32-bit boot or 64-bit??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by grooveattack, Sep 1, 2009.

?

32-bit booting or64?

Poll closed Sep 25, 2009.
  1. no, really, 32-bit is fine. makes no difference

    32 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. hells yeah! we want 64-bit or nothing!!

    16 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    does this booting into 32-bit bother you?
    just knowing that i can do the whole 64-bit thing means i really want to. even though i will notice nothing new, it makes me feel good that 'hey, my kernel is 64-bit'

    how about you?
     
  2. abecker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #2
    I use 64bit kernel. Only thing I needed to check was whether CoolBook would work with it. (and it does, you just need the SL beta).

    Nothing beats 3.06 GHz at 1.05 V when normally it would need 1.225 V :)
     
  3. Arkanok macrumors 6502a

    Arkanok

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #3
    How do you even get the 64-bit kernal going? I tried doing the "hold 6 and 4 while booting but it didn't seem to work when I went to system profiler to check. I'm pretty sure I shouldn't have a problem booting using the 64 bit one. My computer is a MBP (2 years old, Santa Rosa c2d, 2.2 ghz)
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Then you can't boot to 64-bit kernel. You CPU or EFI is 32-bit or don't support 64-bit kernel
     
  5. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    The easiest way to check if you're in 64-bit mode, is look at the console logs right after a reboot (look at all messages). You should see a couple log entries like "PAE extensions enabled" and "64-bit mode enabled"... that's an alternative way to see instead of looking at Profiler.
     
  6. Ptyger macrumors member

    Ptyger

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #6
    From what I understand, the only benefit a 64-bit kernel provides is more than 2GB (or maybe 4?) of kernel address space. This really only makes a difference when working with LARGE files/applications/databases. Hence why the Xserves will boot by default into that kernel. The benefits of 64-bit for the vast majority of people running consumer level machines are arguable as to whether it makes a significant difference in the long run.
     
  7. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Not the only benefit, but definitely the most important one. Faster system calls are nice and all, just not much help except in odd cases.
     
  8. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    I've just booted with 64 :)

    Btw you might want to check this.

    Also quote from here
    :)
     
  9. jamin100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #9
    32-bit works fine for me so i'm not messing with 64
     
  10. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #10
    Nope.
    32GB+
     
  11. Salty Pirate macrumors 6502

    Salty Pirate

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    kansas city
    #11
    64 bit mode is WAY faster. Much more teh snap™

    something will not work though. On my MBP, VMWare fusion & my verizon aircard require 32 bit mode. Also, adding the arc=64 to the boot plist files does not work, only holding down the 6 & the 4 does.
     
  12. Grimmeh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    While loaded in the 64-bit kernel, I've yet to experience any of the bugs people are reporting (in Exposé, Safari, etc.). While loaded with the 32-bit kernel, I've experienced some of the bugs (mostly in Exposé). It could be coincidence, it might not, but I don't have or use anything that needs the 32-bit kernel, as far as I know, so 64-bit is now my default.

    Side note: I read somewhere that Flash has hiccups in the 64-bit kernel, but why would it? I haven't noticed anything wrong, yet, so…

    PS: Moments after posting, the experienced one of the Exposé bugs. Guess I spoke to soon.
     
  13. abecker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #13
    That is actually incorrect. The 32bit kernel has the PAE/64bit messages.

    The easiest way to check is the following:

    1) Your kernel at boot mentions LP64
    2) Running the "kextstat" command shows addresses longer than 8 characters
    3) In system profiler if it sais 64bit kernel and extensions: Yes
     
  14. abecker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #14
    You need to add "arch=x86_64" to enable 64bit kernel (if supported) through the plist.
     
  15. Steve Jobs=God macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #15
    Running 32 bit at the moment, but curious about 64 bit, only thing stopping me is that i have a 32 bit EFI, any idea how to update that to a 64bit EFI?
     
  16. Salty Pirate macrumors 6502

    Salty Pirate

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    kansas city
    #16
    I did that. If I boot and hold down no keys, I do not get the 64 bit kernel & extensions. It says 'No' under system software overview. If I hold down the 6 & the 4, I get a 'Yes' and the system is noticeably faster.
     
  17. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #17
    how do you default startup in 64bit?

    and is there a list of programs that are incompatible with 64bit macos?

    thanks,

    r.
     
  18. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    http://netkas.org/?p=127 Take a look at that link to find out how to force Snow Leopard into booting into 64-bit.
     
  19. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #19
    What????

    That's more than 4. It's so large, in fact, that it can be measured in terms of exabytes. No practical limit, in other words.
     
  20. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
  21. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    I question the actual utility of that program. I mean many people stick with 32bit or 64bit and so making the change permanent is usually the preferred method, and when the need arises to boot into 32bit (or 64bit) then all you need to do his hold the 3 & 2 keys or the 6 & 4 keys.

    Nice utility I'm sure but its trying to solve a problem that doesn't quite exist.
     
  22. mslide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #22
    Don't really care either way at the moment. Whatever OSX does by default is fine with me. People blow this whole 32 vs 64 bit thing way out of proportion. Makes no difference for most people.
     
  23. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Agreed and most people fail to understand what it really does. They see that 64 is larger then 32 and think that it must be better.
     

Share This Page