32 bit or 64 bit ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sa3er, Jan 23, 2011.

1. sa3er macrumors member

i have a Macbook pro (MC373LL) with i7 CPU. i installed 4 more Gig RAM on it. now i have 8 Gig RAM and snow leopard 1.6.6 (last one).
    i wanna know that with 8 Gig RAM i have to use 64 bit kernel or 32bit is fine ? (now its 32bit as default)

ps:i have speed problem always because of lack of ram. i have an XP via parallels too always. please teach me everything as i'm new in mac world ... :D:apple:

Attached Files:

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

You don't need 64-bit kernel unless you have more than 32GB of RAM

3. simsaladimbamba

4. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

can you see anything worn in screen shot ?
    any suggestion ?

5. simsaladimbamba

Everything seems to be alright, as you still have a lot of inactive RAM.
    You might reduce the amount of RAM dedicated to the VM you use though, if you can.

Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor

6. sa3er thread starter macrumors member

i dedicated 3 gig for vm as i always there is 10 firefox profile open on it ... ! (now 2 gig is already used there at the moment and it grow up fast)

are you sure everything is fine ? there is no green part on activity monitor ... :eek:
    now i really have speed problem. my CPU is good but i think my RAM is suck

7. simsaladimbamba

10 firefox profile = 10 Firefox (the browser) tabs or windows?

And yes, the RAM usage seems fine, please read the link I provided. Also your PAGE OUTS (RAM copied to the HDD) are quite low compared to the PAGE INS (content read from the HDD for the RAM), as I have 2.21GB PAGE OUTS and 3.84GB PAGE INS with my 4GB of RAM and having ten applications open, though currently none as hungry as your VM process.