320M and RAM

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Beaverman3001, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Beaverman3001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #1
    In the past when I owned a laptop with a integrated GPU that shared system RAM, you were able to adjust the available RAM for the GPU to utilize. I noticed on Apple's site, it says 256mb is the minimum the 320M uses, but it doesn't mention anything about a maximum, or if they even allow the user to change the amount of RAM used.

    My last laptop used a Radeon HD 3200, which could share up to 512mb of system RAM. Going from the stock settings of 256mb shared to 512mb made quite a performance boost, so I am hoping there are similar options for the 320M. (Notebook check says nothing about it's maximum amount of RAM)

    This question might be better asked on the Macbook Pro forums but maybe someone here will know. Appreciate your time.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You can't change it under OS X. In Boot Camp it might be possible. Anyway, the difference between 256MB and 512MB is fairly small. In high-end MBPs with 330M, there is no difference between 256MB and 512MB in games
     
  3. Beaverman3001 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #3
    Little disappointed OSX doesn't have a option for it, oh well. It probably wouldn't be a major boost but it would be nice. I appreciate your help anyway!
     
  4. Westyfield2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #4
    Wonder if there's some way of writing a program to do it.... as anyone with 8GB could easily get away with letting the GPU use 512MB or 768MB!
     
  5. Beaverman3001 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #5
    Probably, although I doubt the 320M would support more then 512mb.
     

Share This Page