*3282# on AT&T (Data Usage).

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by misterjay, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. misterjay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1
    Sent - 32.8 MB
    Received - 194 MB

    but according to *3282# (dailed) on the iPhone 5 for AT&T, it says that I've only used
    35.5 MB data (myself)
    49.64 MB(Group Data w/other iPhone 5 line) out of 4,095 MB.


    So.. which exactly do I go with? the one that AT&T says (32.5MB) or the cellular data usage from the iPhone settings?
     
  2. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #3
    AT&T's usage counter is not a live update. It's generally one or two days behind your actual usage. It gives you a ballpark estimate, though.
     
  4. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    This is because AT&T takes time to bill your data usage where as your phone knows but it has used. In a while you will see all the data usage on AT&T too.
     
  5. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #5
    The phones built in counter is more accurate so long as you reset it every new billing cycle.
     
  6. Xgm541 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #6
    Generally the usage on your phone should be similar to your AT&T.
     
  7. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    You're telling me AT&T will bill him according to what's on the phone instead of what's in their system?
     
  8. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, USA
    #8
    i'm beginning to think there is something up with the usage counter on the iPhone. It says I have used 1.7 GB and I'm pretty sure I haven't.
     
  9. Spectrum Abuser, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

    Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #9
    No. I'm telling you[and him] that their system is not a live updater. You'd have to turn off cellular data and then wait a day or two before AT&Ts system would display the right data usage.
     
  10. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    That makes more sense.
     
  11. foolycooly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #11
    How do you know? My AT&T app claims that the data information is up to date (up to the minute). I'm pretty sure it's more accurate than my phone since my phone says I've received over 1.2 gigs in a couple of days from light usage (and being on wifi at home). AT&T app says around 250mb as of one minute ago.
     
  12. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #12
    *3282# is not a live system.
     

Share This Page