32bit/64bit? I reallly need help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by anabel, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. anabel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I have to install windows only for the use of AutoCAD 2012 software..

    Macbook 4.1, Mac OS X v10.5.8, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory.

    I really don't know which one to install, 32bit or 64bit? I heard a lot people were saying that 64bt need about 4 GB memory. Since I have only 2GB memory, should I just go with 32 bit?:confused:
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    Go with 32bit, as you say, since you only have 2GB, 64 bit would be a waste as it can take advantage of 4GB and more, it can use less however, but I think it would be better for you to go with 32bit. Are you doing it in a virtual machine?
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #4
    I am going to guess and say because a windows license cost much less than buying another Autocad license.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    Just go 32bit. It requires a small hack to run 64bit on a macbook, which isn't hard, but unless you have 4GB memory, it's pretty useless.
     
  6. anabel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    I downloaded AutoCAD 2011 and can't install it because it said my macbook version is not supported.. I have Macbook 4.1 and AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements is 5.1 or later.. Autodesk just release the Mac version last year..
     
  7. anabel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #7
    thanks for advice !!!

    Sorry I have another question .. Can I use the upgrade version of Windows 7 for the installation??

    I also found this website and I think this person use upgrade license and successfully installed it (?)

    http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/how-to-install-windows-7-on-an-imac/
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    RAM is very cheap right now. If you can or are interested in doing so, I'd say make the jump to 4GB and go with 64-bit. I'm sure Auto-CAD 2012 could easily take advantage of the extra RAM. Plus, Mac OS X loves RAM, so both OS's would benefit. I have a MacBook Pro 4.1 as well, and one of the first things I did was upgrade the RAM to 4GB. I noticed a nice increase in speed from 2GB in both OS X and Windows. Windows 7 64-bit runs flawlessly for me. I'd highly recommend going this route.
     

Share This Page