32bit or 64bit MBP ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by /dev/toaster, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I am having trouble finding a clear answer to this silly question. Are all Macbook Pros 64bit ? Even those Core Duos that were first released ? Are there any Macbook Pros that are 32bit ?
     
  2. amusiccale macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    To my knowledge, the 'Core 2 Duo' processors are 64-bit capable while the 'Core Duo' [Yonah] processors are 32-bit.
     
  3. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #3
    Yes, the Core 2 Duo is 64-bit meaning it can address 64-bits of memory.
     
  4. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #4
    MBP models were updated to 64-bit Core 2 Duo models on October 24th, 2006. Before that date all models used Core Duo chips that were 32-bit.
     
  5. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #5
    More correctly, you need to have a computer with the chipset to hold more than 2gig or otherwise it'll only detect and use 3gig. In other words, SantaRosa + Core 2 = teh 64bit happy
     
  6. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    All MBP use 64 bit CPU's even the core duo's. The update was to the motherboard (Santa Rosa). Though if you look at the benchmarks the update was not impressive at all. The speed increase in many processing benchmarks on a system that was 32 bit motherboard compared to 64 bit motherboard were like 1 second in speed increase over the 32 bit. Kind of sad.
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
  8. Andrmgic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    64bit is mostly useless unless you

    a) need a lot of ram (4+ GB)
    b) have computationally intensive programs that were coded for a 64bit OS
     
  9. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #9
    Core Duo is not 64bit...
     

Share This Page