32gb in MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DeltaRage, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. DeltaRage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #1
    Does anyone know if Ivy Bridge will support 32gb (16x2) RAM in a laptop, and if such RAM is planned for production by any manufacturer? I see that it's currently made for the server market, but I'm curious if there are plans to make it for laptops.

    (I work with large datasets that annoyingly max out the current 16gb limit in the MBP)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Yes, 32 GB is supported.
    When manufacturers actually make them is unknown.
     
  3. DeltaRage thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #3
    Excellent. Thanks for your reply.

     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    Ive always been under the belief the current ones support 32GB if 16GB modules existed for laptops
     
  5. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
    #5
    It would be nice if the next MacBook Pro had 4 memory slots like the Precision, BOXX, Clevo and Elitebooks do. 4 8GB sticks cost around $500. 32GB would be nice for Adobe Suite, Sketchup, Photomatix, Vue and having a lot of synths open at the same time.
     
  6. jjfactory macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    8GB is less than $70 now: here
     
  7. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
  8. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
    #8
    Wow, that's cheap.
    I think I priced the PC1600 in my search at Crucial.
    Either way, if you need it, now's a great time to max out your memory.
     
  9. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #9
    Absolutely I agree 100%. People use Macs for really system-intensive work. I would go as far as say that most graphics-based software and Macs are really commonly associated with each other. More than two slots would be nice, at least on the larger 15 and 17. The current CPUs in the MBP make using them as a desktop replacement a reality, but a way to up the RAM beyond 16 (or get to 16 for less via 4 4GB sticks) would be really nice.
     
  10. Joseph Farrugia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Malta (EU)
    #10
    only 16Gb on E2011 15" MBP 2.0Ghz?

    Somewhere I read that the RAM limit for early 2011 MBPs is 32Gb (not 16Gb) for machines with i7 CPUs with 8Mb L3 cache;

    whilst other E2011 15" 2.0Ghz MBPs with 6Mb L3 cache are capped at 16Gb.

    Would like to confirm this, but a google search didn't bring up any info;
    maybe I am using the wrong search terms?

    Regards to all,
    JF:apple:
     
  11. Spadoinkles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    I agree! I think the three-model lineup works quite well for Apple but as a workstation, I would certainly hope for more. I max my 16GB on a daily basis and workstations certainly utilise a very good chunk of the 64GB on workstations.
     

Share This Page