32GB of RAM! What's Next?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by John Doe 57, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Does anyone here on Mac Rumors, actually have the Mac Pro with 32GB of RAM? Just wondering.

    And also, what kind of power would your computer have? How many apps could you run all at once without stuttering?
     
  2. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
  3. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #4
    32 Gb of RAM? How could anyone ever FILL a 5 MB ProFile hard drive? LOL LOL :D LOL LOL
     
  4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #5
    Many, many, many instances of safari, mail, word, and chess. :p
     
  5. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    Considering the i5400 chipset used in the new Mac Pro actually can support up to 128GB of memory, 32GB is nothing :p
     
  6. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  7. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #8
    Thats my favorite Dance Dance Revolution: Infectious Diseases mix also.
     
  8. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    imagine what a 16gb stick of ram would cost you, then multiply that by 8!
     
  9. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #10
    Here you go..
    Incase you or anyone else here gets a little Bonus this winter. Kinda a bargain, init? :D
     
  10. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Imagine what extra ram slots would cost.
     
  11. SnapperUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Is it good to get as much RAM as possible?

    I am going to order a 3.2 Ghz MP as soon as they start shipping with the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT. Is there any reason other than money NOT to get as much RAM as I can cram in?
    I will mainly be using Photoshop CS3, Capture One Pro, Aperture. These apps are often all open at once.
     
  12. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #13
    The fact that you will probably of wasted money on RAM that will never be used. Photoshop I think only uses a max of 3GBs of RAM. Aperture I'm not sure about, but if it uses more than 4GBs I'd be surprised. Capture One Pro same again. So if you got more than 12GBs of RAM I'd be surprised if you used it.

    Even 8 - 10GBs should be sufficient. How many page outs do you get on your current system and with how much RAM?
     
  13. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #14
    Back in the day, you had to cut a resistor on the logic board of a Mac Plus to access the unheard of amount of 4 megs of ram. No one needed that much ram!
    :D
     
  14. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Right now Aperture is 32bit so certainly won't use more than 4Gb. I'd say there's a reasonable chance that Aperture 2.0 will be 64bit...
     
  15. ray_uk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    #16
    16GB of RAM

    Hmm... After seeing OWC's prices I feel compelled to consider getting 16GB.
     
  16. SnapperUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #17
    So should I get 16GB (4x4GB) and wait to see if future app releases need more memory?
    Is there any performance difference between 8x2GB or 4x4GB?
    Sorry for the newbie questions I don't really understand how memory works.
     
  17. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #18
    No there shouldn't be any noticeable performance differences. If there is a big price difference from where ever you are buying get the 8x2GB option. Honestly, if you are going to need more than 16GB in the near future it is more than likely you would be aware of it now.
     
  18. pyramid6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #19
    As someone hinted at earlier, you need 64bit applications to take advantage of more than 4 gigs per application. Even though the OS can support that much memory, applications can be limited. One thing I can see for needing that much memory is a RAM disk, but I don't know how to do it OS X. I've done it in Linux, and disk speed increases 10 fold.

    P6
     
  19. pyramid6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #20
    I was reading about RAM disks in OS X, and I was reminded of something. (You can do RAM disks in OS X.) The OS uses memory to cache hard drive operations. In theory, you could use all 32 gigs of memory even if you application does not use more than 4 gigs. However, I would get more than 10 gigs memory until all my applications were 64 bit. 10 gigs = 2 gigs standard plus 4x2 gig for a third party.

    P6
     
  20. Canoehead2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #21
    Still waiting . . .

    My meagre 8gigs has been on order at OWC for over a week now and still has not shipped - so keep dreaming. Since I've been running my new MacPro for a week now with just the 2gigs and loving it, it's getting more and more likely that that order will soon be cancelled.

    Hmm, 8gigs for $400 - I remember paying $250 in 1992 for 4megs.
     
  21. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #22
    Well Dell has a precision that supports 128GB however 64GB right now.
     
  22. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #23
    heh! i remember using a ram disk on my old 75mhz 16mb performa running 7.5 :p damn was that fast :D
     

Share This Page