32GB RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Apple..., May 25, 2011.

  1. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    How much longer do you think it will be until Apple supports 32GB of RAM? 16GB? Thanks.
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    16Gb is already supported, you can install it for a measly $1600.
     
  3. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I can't even imagine what you would have to be running in order to require 32GB of RAM.
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    Very large computerized fluid dynamics models. That's one example among many in the scientific world.
     
  5. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    I remember hearing that sentence not that many years ago about 32MB of RAM.

    For now, 8GB seems to be doing the trick for me. However, when 16GB is economically feasible (for me), I'll be upgrading right away. More RAM is always a good thing.
     
  6. iketeru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #6
    +1, scientific simulations can easily require this much RAM. for a price/performance ratio, you're probably better off building your own linux box for this kind of purpose... using a laptop running at 80+C while it's chugging away at calculations is never fun!
     
  7. Apple... thread starter macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'm going to wait till the price drops. And yes, more RAM is always a good thing. ;)
     
  8. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    ^^^^Only if you need it. I'm more than good with my 4GB. I doubt I'll need any more RAM anytime soon.



    These simulations don't sound like they would be something you'd want to run on a MBP.


    Anyway, I'm sure sometime in the next few years 32GB will be supported.
     
  9. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    well for the general population even 4 gb is enough for them.
     
  10. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #10
    Yeah, although not likely with the current models (provided 16GB SODIMMs exist in the near future), as I don't think the chipset can handle that.
     
  11. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #11
    Sounds like a desktop is a better option.
     
  12. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    Yeah, I agree. We do some image manipulation and research on TIFF files that range from 1/2 gig to 3 or 4 gig PER image.

    8 GB just barely gets us by. When 16GB drops to a $1k I'll upgrade.

    -P
     
  13. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #13
    how come Apple only advertises an 8GB limit? Was it because of lack of 8GB SODIMMs when these first came out in February?
     

Share This Page