32Gb SSD is this sufficient?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Iphone3gs, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Iphone3gs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    32Gb SSD is this sufficient? if just using for browsing net.

    I was thinking of getting the lowest quantity in Gb in SSD that way save more money. As i just use my MBP for browsing net or downloading.

    I was also thinking of getting TIME MACHINE 1TB.

    What is the least amount of GB would you people recommend and why?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Kleptomaniac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Are you using this as a boot drive and using it with an optibay HDD? If not and this is to be your only storage solution then I must ask you why do you own a Macbook pro if all you are going to do is browse the Internet?:confused:
     
  3. Iphone3gs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    The 2010 MBP spec was way better then the Macbook Air spec for the same price.

    And in the long term easier and more cheaper to upgrade the MBP then the MBA.

    i got the 2010 2.4gHz model with 250Gb hardrive with 4Gb ram (£999)..Macbook air has 2.13Ghz processor at its best...
     
  4. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I had a 40gb SSD on my Mac mini. If you don't plan on storing much on it, it should suffice. I would recommend a bigger drive if you can afford it, though.
     
  5. jamisonbaines macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    i use a 32 gb hard drive on my netbook (running os x) and it's plenty of storage. if you simply browse the internet don't let people tell you otherwise.

    for me, 32 is enough for the os, 400 mb of music, xcode and some other large apps plus thousands of lowish res photos that i use for a screen saver. with that i have 10 gb free space which is plenty for page outs and virtual memory. it wouldn't be a bad decision to go larger but 32 will definitely get the job done.
     
  6. Iphone3gs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
  7. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    You don't need good specs or upgradability if all your going to do is browse the internet. You should've gotten a MacBook Air.
     
  8. Jakeblu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9

    Better spec same price he would be a fool not to :D
     
  9. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #10
    You could probably scrape by but I'd recommend around 60GB as well. It gives you a little bit of a buffer zone.
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Yes but the Air comes with a SSD and is much lighter.
     
  11. thurstmw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #12
    You can often find kingston 64gb SSDs for around 70 bucks after MIR. That is what I did and I love it. I would recommend at least 60gb.
     
  12. bigjobby macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Also, if surfing and downloading is the only usage, surely adding an SSD to a MBP just makes it a bulkier MBA anyway. :rolleyes:
     
  13. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #14
    These drives have very good reviews and run at their advertised speeds. This is the boot drive I have in my MBP right now and it is amazing.

    Mushkin has been around for a very long time and is one of the top RAM manufacturers in the world.
     
  14. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    Pretty much. IMO the OP should've gotten a MBA.
     
  15. Iphone3gs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #16
    I got the MBP in Sept 2010 while the back to school offer was still running (printer + ipod rebate)...i was thinking of getting MBA but it was due for an update which it did but a few months later..i would have missed out on the back to school offer.

    Also the new MBA dont have back LIT keyboard which i really like...

    if Both MBA and MBP you have 4Gb ram then price would be a bit more higher on the AIR.

    for simialr spec MBP is cheaper overall.

    MBA does come with SSD installed but it only got cheaper with the latest update and it wasnt really worth getting a really old MBA 2009 model at sept 2010
     
  16. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #17
    You say 32GB is enough now. But later you might want to download some big videos, run a game or simulator, download a lot more music, put tons of images on there... And you can't. I almost fell into that trap... But instead I got a 500GB hybrid drive :)

    I mean, X-Plane9 (which I have installed on my MBP) is 95GB alone! :eek: Thats more than double your whole hard disk!
     
  17. idunn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #18
    Simplicity itself

    Penny wise, pound foolish.

    I've considered a 32GB drive, but that would be in an iPad, and even then perhaps a questionable economy. In practice many find themselves maxing out the storage capacity of their computer, whatever size it is. Thus generally best to buy the largest capacity you may ever conceivably need (and possibly beyond that), and can afford.

    In short answer, which I'm only now getting to: yes, a 32GB SSD will suffice for your needs … as long as they remain the same. That is something of a large 'if' in many cases.

    Your rational for choosing the MBP over MBA makes sense, only unfortunate in the timing as the MBA would in most respects prove the better match for your needs, if albeit without a backlit keyboard and the most horsepower for the money. But this does bring us to a question in storage many have encountered, whatever the computer, and particularly if opting for limited storage capacity.

    Namely, how best to store whatever cannot be on your computer itself. Mention of the iPad is apt, as they are all limited in this regard, and many necessarily have to find the best approaches to using them in conjunction with larger storage systems. Various threads on that subject within that forum can be helpful. As others elsewhere, for instance in the Apple TV forum where many deal with the need for large and accessible storage.

    I do use a Time Capsule for remote storage, but could only recommend such a solution with certain caveats. Simply as storage it is a more expensive option than others, but with the obvious advantage of wi-fi connection. This is fast enough for the streaming of 720p movies, but unless hard wired will not offer the fastest transfer of large files. One would need to consider the type of files and applications used, how instantaneous the access wished, and if being wired not desired.

    Another issue with the Time Capsule is that it is intended by Apple solely for the use of Time Machine for backups. For that it works quite well, but since it cannot be partitioned (and Time Machine by default will override all else in a partition) it cannot be used for both Time Machine backups and other storage. There is good news and bad news in that.

    The bad news if you had a 1TB Time Capsule, you still need ANOTHER 1TB external drive to serve as backup for that data, because it sure will not (much of it) be backed up on your 32GB SSD. The good news is that since you will need a second external drive anyway, and they can be less expensive than a Time Capsule as well, and able to be partitioned, that your Time Machine backup can reside there on its own partition, and yourself with nearly 1TB of external storage space (the other 1TB as back up).

    As said, there are various configurations to consider in conjunction with your needs and anticipated uses. It can all seem somewhat daunting, and some research to determine what works best, and for you.

    In relation, just spending a bit more for a larger SSD, and then one external for Time Machine backup, may seem simplicity itself.
     
  18. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #19
    Let me borrow this threat real quick: if I were to replace my MBP's SuperDrive with a HDD, is Optibay the only option? Or can any laptop HDD be used?

    Also, alongside this extra HDD, I would be using a SSD.
     
  19. wywern209 macrumors 65832

    wywern209

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    do you rly want to know?
    #20
    you can use any laptop hdd you want. optibay is simply the name given to the enclosure/caddy for placing ur hdd into.
     
  20. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #21
    Ohh, for some reason I thought Optibay was something like a HDD brand that was made to fit the SuperDrive vacancy...
     
  21. Iphone3gs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #22
    please make your own thread or MROOGLE your answer..
     
  22. Angelo95210, May 1, 2011
    Last edited: May 1, 2011

    Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #23
    I think 32GB is enough for your needs. I was thinking of doing the same as you, but I looking at the 64GB ones as well as prices are decreasing very fast.

    I have been using less than 30GB on my 2006 SL MBP during a long time, but I am above this now that I am using it as my main computer with Dropbox. But this is the point too. You can store a lot of data in the clouds now with services like Adrive or Sky Drive.
     
  23. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    I personally couldn't get by with less than 32Gb, but if you used less than 32Gb of storage at the moment then yeah it would work. I would rather go for a 60Gb though.

    I'm considered a 32Gb as my boot/application drive, and using my 500Gb HDD for data.
     
  24. Iphone3gs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #25
    Thanks everyone their responses.
    Conclusion: 32Gb is sufficient would work...but for longer term maybe to go for a bit higher IF affordable.

    I may go for about 64Gb SSD.

    now to choose the best one for reasonable money.

    my needs:
    -Keeping in mind i browse the net
    -downloading torrents
    -watching movies

    the new SATA 3 SSD would they work on the 2010 Macbook pro?

    i have the 2010 MBP 2.4Ghz base model (4Gb ram, 250Gb hard drive)
     

Share This Page