Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dpope

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 5, 2006
Hi,

I've read on several forums that in the EU there is a law that all laptops and mobile phones must have a two year warranty. Apple Europe still quotes only 1 year on the basic warranty as on the Dutch site (where I got my laptop):

http://www.apple.com/nl/support/products/proplan.html

Does anyone know the exact reference to the law which requires companies to provide 2 year warranties? Has anyone contacted apple to ask them to change this on their website or to check if they'll provide two year of coverage? Are some EU people interested in sending apple europe's corporate people a petition citing this law? I have no legal background but maybe if someone does they can draft a suitably phrased version of the letter.

AppleCare in Europe is exorbatant (considering the machines are already very expensive) and I'm about to travel to the US. I was going to check if I can buy AppleCare there but somehow I doubt they will sell me cheap US apple care for a European laptop. Does anyone know anything about this or has anyone tried it? Please give me any info if so. Then I remembered this two year thing and decided to look into it. If I'm garaunteed two years of protection then I'm not sure its worth shelling out 400 euros for the last year so it would be very good (for me) to sort this out ASAP (since my first year warranty ends soon).

thanks

Macky-Mac

macrumors 68040
May 18, 2004
Hmmm... this article seems to undercut the claim of necassary two year warranties. Does anybody with a legal background know how this might apply here:

http://www.gkh-law.com/content.asp?page=articles&article=Minimum_Warranty_Requirements