3360 x 2100 resolution showing up

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TooSmooth, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. TooSmooth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    For some reason, my mac is showing a resolution of 3360x2100 under the about this mac screen. Anyone know whats going on?

    http://imgur.com/dEPAgjr
     
  2. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    Did you install any upgrades recently?

    I would love a 1680x1050 based retina screen!
     
  3. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    Because thats the logical resolution. You are running the 1680x1050 HiDPI mode which is implemented as a virtual 3360x2100 screen - the OS will then downscale the image to the native 2880x1800. This is basically a form of supersampling or a 'real' sub pixel rendering.
     
  4. TooSmooth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #4
    I just figured it out. If you use a scaled resolution, for some reason the computer actually thinks your hardware is different
     
  5. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Does it slow down the system?
     
  6. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    Of course it does. The machine needs to work with four times as many pixels and do some overhead work. It doesn't make your computer perform slower though, if that's what you are asking. Only few badly coded applications will notice the performance hit (Apple's own App Store is a prime example).
     
  7. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Sorry, I meant, when you make it display "like" 1400x900 and then you switch to make it display like 1680x1050, does it work harder?
     
  8. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Its more pixels to process, so yes, it works harder. Again, the important question is: why do you ask?
     
  9. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I ask 'cause my rmbp is preparing for shipment :D :apple:
     

Share This Page