Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Jul 11, 2006
Somewhere
I don't think it makes much difference, the extra electricity from starting it up often could slightly shorten the life of some components, but probably not noticably. I will keep my powerbook running for several weeks at a time, the only times I shut it down are when an update requires it to restart or I am going to be gone for a few days and I havn't had any problems related to that.

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
Sleep the machine so that you can be sure it runs its daily, weekly and monthly maintenance tasks. Having said that, a restart can't hurt every now and then.

FredAkbar

macrumors 6502a
Jan 18, 2003
San Francisco, CA
I'm not an expert on the matter, but you may want to give some more info to go along with that question, as it may affect the answer. For example, how often do you shut down/sleep and re-waken your MacBook? And for how long is it off/asleep?

Sleep the machine so that you can be sure it runs its daily, weekly and monthly maintenance tasks. Having said that, a restart can't hurt every now and then.
The cron maintenance tasks don't run if the computer is asleep.

Joshua8o8

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 2, 2007
Honolulu, Hawai'i
^ your right more info would be helpful, sorry. I use my macbook just about everyday. If i was to just put it to sleep. i would be waking it anywhere from 1-4 times in a day. It usually would not be off/asleep for more than a day. Thanks for all the replies!

Suspended
Jul 11, 2006
Somewhere
if you are using it that much just put it to sleep. I would shut it down though if you wont be using it for more than a day.

letswastetime

macrumors regular
Feb 11, 2007