360 HD DVD issues

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by Nermal, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Here's a question for the six people that own an HD DVD drive :)

    I've connected my 360 to my TV via HDMI, and the movies are "jerky", like they're dropping frames. This is most noticeable during scenes where the camera slowly pans around.

    I've tried using the component cable, and the video is fine! Reconnect HDMI, and the jerkiness comes back. I've tried 1080p and i, and both have the problem. I forgot to check which format I was using with component, but it still looked crisp and "1080-ish".

    Has anyone else run into this? Any suggestions? I'm new to this whole "HD" thing so I might have overlooked something obvious! :)
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Strange indeed Nermal. I get the same picture regardless of whether I'm using component or HDMI on my 360 HD-DVD player.

    I really don't know what to suggest. I tried googling but can't find an answer either.
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Interesting. This only affects HD DVDs; videos played from the 360's hard drive are fine with both connections. It all still looks perfect when using component, I'd just like to get it going through HDMI due to only having two sets of component inputs (and they're normally taken up by my Freeview box and my DVD player).

    I haven't found much through Google either, other than the suggestion to try the component cable.
     
  4. evan g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #4
    You could try Xbox or Microsoft forums. I have no idea what their called, don't really need to.

    I'm sure someone else has had that problem there.
     
  5. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Well, I emailed Microsoft and got a rather baffling response:

    Um, yeah, thanks?
     
  6. evan g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #6
    nice.

    well, try it again, and if you get the same response, try elsewhere, i guess...
     
  7. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I asked for clarification, seeing that I'd already contact support as far as I was aware. The response?

    I'm now convinced that "Lily" is some sort of attempt at artificial intelligence, unless I'm underestimating human stupidity. Microsoft wonders why people don't like them :rolleyes:
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
  9. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Yeah, I've already checked that, the 360 form is slightly different and it's definitely the one I used.

    Are both contact forms missing their CSS (formatting) for you too?
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  11. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #11
    I know these are rather simple but try em anyways.....what do you have to lose:)

    1. Is the HDMI cable connection shaky? wiggle it
    2. Deselect 720p/1080i leaving only 1080p
    3. Disconnect your ethernet cable whiles watching the movie
    4. Remove the HDD then put it back.


    Bless
     
  12. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  13. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #13
    Did you download the latest software updates as well as the drive firmware update?

    It's automatic if you insert an HD DVD disc into the drive.
     
  14. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  15. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #15
    Make and model number of TV please, I'll solve this one. :p
     
  16. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #16
    Did you try a different, possibly higher-quality HDMI cable?
     
  17. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    I only have the one cable, however everything's fine when playing games or watching videos from the hard drive.

    I'm at work at the moment, so I'll try to dig out the TV model number when I get home. It's a Philips 42", which will narrow it down a little bit in the meantime.

    Edit: It's a Philips 42PFL7422/79.
     
  18. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
  19. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  20. shaunomacx macrumors member

    shaunomacx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    #20
    your TV has firmware just like any mac/pc/console.

    my 360 HDDVD player works perfectly on Component on two 360's on different tvs
     
  21. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #21
    Since HDMI uses HDCP, you may need to update your LCD set's firmware, since games look okay, but movies, which have HDCP, may not.
     
  22. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #22
    How do I do that? As far as I know, everything's up to date. I get a message (from the Xbox) saying something like "Secure HDCP link established" when I play a movie.

    I'm still learning all the terminology etc, so don't assume that I know anything :)
     
  23. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #23
    ^^^^

    It usually involves putting a file on a thumb drive and inserting it onto the USB port of your LCD panel, and going into the menus to read the thumb drive and update the firmware.

    Check your LCD's manual or website.
     
  24. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #24
    There's no USB port, and I can't find anything on Philips' website.
     
  25. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #25
    ^^^^ I'm stumped.

    Did you try a higher quality HDMI cable?
     

Share This Page