3870 crossfire bridge

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheRevolution55, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. TheRevolution55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone know if the 3870 comes with a crossfire bridge? And if it doesn't the pc version has one so why wouldnt the mac and pc one not have one?
     
  2. ZeelessOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #2
    I'm curious about this too. If it doesn't, you can buy them seperately. For example, here:
    http://shop.ati.com/product.asp?sku=3186855

    Since the product name clearly says "Mac and PC", though, I think they'll include it for the PC users, as well as Boot Camp users.
     
  3. Wormy23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #3
    The review on xlr8yourmac listed the items in their box and it DID include the Crossfire Bridge and a Mac Pro 6-pin power connector. So I would assume it IS included in the retail box too.

    Link to xlr8yourmac review
     
  4. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #4
    Do we know if the 2006 dual dual core (4x2.66) will run Crossfire? Or is that only available on the newer 2008 Mac Pro?
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    It will but only with 8x PCIe. The 2006 dual core cannot be set up to have two x16 PCIe slots whereas the newer Mac Pro can. Running a single 3870 on an 8x slot instead of a 16x slot results in a loss in performance of about 7%. Running two 3870s in crossfire results in a 7% as well, not 14% as you might expect.

    Barefeats say on their website that you'd be a loon for running crossfire at 8x, however, Toms Hardware report that yes, it does result in a drop in performance over crossfire at 16x but its not that bad a drop and its still way faster than a single 3870. Dual 3870s in crossfire are the fastest Windows graphics solution available using official supported OS X hardware in any Mac Pro right now.
     
  6. ray_uk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    #6
    I read a article on a review site "forgot which one" which showed the FPS count nearly doubling when 2 x 2600 xt cards were ran in the 2008 Mac Pro, I do not recall a bridge being used, just the two cards being plugged into the 2 x 16 pcie slots.
     
  7. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #7
    I have a question...
    Can the two ATI Radeon HD 2600 XTs can be CrossFired too when booted in Windows? Or is this only a HD 3870 thing on the Mac Pro? :confused:
     

Share This Page