3870 problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by seasterling, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. seasterling macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #1
    Just installed 3870 in 2008 MacPro. It ran about a minute and the display went out, keyboard was non-responsive. A restart clears up the keyboard but still no display. If I let the smc reset I'll get the display again for about a minute but it dies again.

    Should I be seeing any type of ATI control panel after the driver install?

    Any ideas? TIA.
     
  2. matt321 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #2
    Did you install the drivers before installing the card? I heard you have to do that with the old card still in.
     
  3. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
  4. kahine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    There's not an ATI control panel in OS X (that I have found anyway) but it should work fine after you install the drivers -

    Sounds like you might have got a bad card -

    I installed the drivers even after on mine as doing a fresh install theres no other choice with it and you get some graphical corruption on boot until you install drivers but after that is should run fine without issues
     
  5. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #5
    If I reset the SMC the card will run for about a minute and then the machine locks up again and the display goes out. I'm starting to wonder if it might be the Mac Pro and not the video card. Anybody know if there is a way to tell?
     
  6. Rankrotten macrumors 6502

    Rankrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Have you attached the additional power cable to the motherboard?
     
  7. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #7
    Yes, the power cord is attached. I spoke with an Apple rep today and we couldn't resolve anything. I need to either try this card in another box, or try another card in this machine I guess.
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Do you have the access to another computer and/or card to do this?
     
  9. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #9
    I made an appointment at the local Apple store Tuesday. We'll see.
     
  10. ventro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #10
    I doubt Apple will be able to do anything because the 3870 isn't a BTO card. Best they could do is give you an 8800GT, but the stock 2600XT is actually faster.

    Did you make sure to do the following steps

    1. Install drivers with OLD card still seated
    2. Fully reboot back to desktop after driver installation, with OLD card still seated
    3. THEN shut down and swap cards before powering on again

    If you miss that reboot in between I heard it might screw things up. Also check to make sure the fan is spinning. It could be faulty.
     
  11. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #11
    Yeah, I did all of that. I spoke with ATI this morning and they think the card has a problem. I have a new card on the way. Thanks.
     
  12. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    I hope the new card solves the problem. ;)
    Good luck! :)
     
  13. highjumppudding macrumors 6502

    highjumppudding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #13
    Fan noises

    Whenever I move the cursor on screen or open/close an application, anything that boosts the CPU a little bit even makes the fan on the 3870 spin faster (louder).

    Has anyone else witnessed this? Is it typical? I can hear it because the Mac Pro is on the desk and not under. Just wondering if this is typical for the fan to get louder with just normal even minimal CPU usage?

    UPDATE: I went further in the Forum and found a posting about the Fan Noises... http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=541289
     
  14. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #14
    I had a bad card. New card seems to be running fine so far.

    The fan is pretty quiet. I had to stress it modo to get the fan to speed up.
     
  15. kahine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #15


    They make you send the original in first or do a switch shipping to you first with a CC on file ?
     
  16. seasterling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #16
    I bought it from OWC, they did a switch and went ahead and sent me a card allowing me 15 days to return the other one. They had very good customer service.
     
  17. SuperGrobi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #17
    Good to know that others have the same problem. My fan runs at top speed all the time .... so this is really a hardware problem? I was hoping that this could be helped in future driver/EFI versions. :rolleyes:
    I will go ahead and see if the card behaves different when I boot into Vista.
     

Share This Page