3D Softwares on iMacs

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AnimaniacMark, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. AnimaniacMark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    #1
    Hi there,

    I was wondering if anyone could help me out, has anyone used any 3D related software in the iMacs? This includes things like Maya, SoftImage, Mudbox, 3DS Max and so on!

    If anyone has used these specific softwares on an iMac, would you be able to say how well the softwares run? Maybe could you say whether these softwares are suited to regular PCs?

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you,

    Mark
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    I've worked with Maya and 3Ds, and they work really well.

    After all, iMacs also use PC parts.
     
  3. AnimaniacMark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    #3
    Hey thanks for your help,

    Can I ask as well which iMac was it that you had? Did you have the most basic iMac that you can buy, or perhaps was it a 27 inch iMac and so on.

    Thanks
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    I have three iMacs.
    Configuration listed as CPU/RAM/SSD/GPU

    21.5" late 2013 i7/16/256/750M
    27" late 2013 i7/32/512/780M
    27" retina i7/32/512/M295X

    All are almost maxed out.
     
  5. AnimaniacMark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    #5
    Okay, well thank you again for your help,

    I just have one more question, I am looking to purchase a 27" iMac; and I think the price is between £1400-£1500, would the specs on this model be enough to run things like Maya smoothly or would I need to upgrade some of the parts??

    Thanks again.
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    At least get an i7, 256GB SSD and the GTX 780M (M295X if you're looking at the retina).

    You can upgrade the RAM yourself at a much lower price, and don't forget that should you run out of storage, there's always external drives to take up the slack. You can also run Windows off external USB drives.
     

Share This Page