3D Touch App Switcher iOS11 missing

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by wheelhot, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #1
    Okay, so I updated to iOS11 today and to my surprise, my most used 3D Touch gesture is now gone. Seriously Apple? Why?

    So here's my suggestion to you all, tweet to Phil and Tim and Apple Support asking for the 3D Touch App Switcher Gesture to be reimplemented. Hopefully, with enough spam, they'll add it back.
     
  2. Bigserver1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #2
    Just noticed this...WTF! It must be an oversight that they’ll add back in 11.0.1, right?
     
  3. Applefan4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
  4. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #4
    I used to use this all the time to switch between two apps I was using. I'll really miss it if it never comes back.
     
  5. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, we need to make more noise about it, if you know any friends who write blogs, ask them to write about it. We need to get Apple Exec attention. What on earth are they thinking to remove a power feature without a better alternative?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
  7. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #7
    Apparently, it happened in iOS 11 Beta 3 but don't know why MR didn't report this as I'm sure many people would've complained then.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2017 ---
    Thanks and don't forget to tweet to Tim, Phil and Apple Support about this
     
  8. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #8
    Feedback sent, though I doubt it will help.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You know what else really pissed me off.
    They completely removed ringtones from the latest itunes version. I found out after I updated :(
    Also they completely removed the appstore, download and update apps and the option to rearrange the apps on the itunes screen.
    So I have dozens of custom ringtones that I cannot sync any more unless I now purchase ringtones from itunes and redownload them on the device. Another greedy move.
    I dont know what they are doing lately but it seems like they keep removing useful options and features.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2017 ---
    I just send mine in also in a not very nice tone :D
    Not sure if they listen to users input or just ignore and continue as usual.


     
  10. Applefan4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    #10
    Also I just noticed that turning off wifi in control centre just disconnects you from it, not actually switch it off. To switch off wifi completely you need to turn it off in settings. Epic fail
     
  11. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #11
    This was the first thing I noticed when I used the iOS 11 beta. Really ticked me off.

    My girlfriend installed iOS 11 tonight and I was barraged with a ton of angry texts, most of which, to quote Doug Neidermeyer, were so profound and disgusting that decorum prohibits listing them here.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Are you serious?
    That's beyond pointless.

     
  13. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #13
    I was able to put my custom ringtones back on my iPhone. I just found the Tones folder and dragged the selected ringtones to the On My Device section of the iTunes sidebar.
     
  14. jyyz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    Re purchased tones. If you go into settings, sounds, then whatever sounds you purchased go into that under sound and vibration patterns. For instance, if you purchased ringtones click that. At the top you will see a choice “download purchased ringtones.” Repeat for each section you have purchases under (text tones, etc.)
     
  15. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #15
    I read somewhere that it was supposed to save battery by not turning the radios on and off all the time. I'd rather just have the old way, though.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Thank you, I'll have to give it a shot.
    So is that a workaround/hack?
    Where did you find the ringtones in itunes and you selected them all and dragged them to your iphone on the itunes side?


     
  17. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #17
    I found this link for ya.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    That's the problem, I dont want to purchase them and I never purchased any with itunes.
    I have a ringtone app on my computer that I can create any audio to ringtone and I have about a dozen or so already made.
    I know this is more of a push to make people buy ringtones instead of sync over any existing or any they can download for free online.
    Not many folks would be able to figure out the workaround.

    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2017 ---
    You're the best ;)
    I hope they dont completely disable that workaround with the next itunes update :(

     
  19. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #19
    I just used Spotlight on the Mac to search for Tones.
     
  20. AppleZombie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  21. wba1990 macrumors regular

    wba1990

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #21
    Yep I’ve been on iOS 11 PB and this is my biggest annoyance I’ve found. It’s no good just disconnecting from wifi, as it leaves it on and if I go into town it starts connecting to all these other WiFi connections I don’t want to be connected with. Hate messing about going into settings etc

    Regarding the topic - what is the 3D Touch app switcher?
     
  22. Applefan4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    #22
    You 3D Touch the left edge of the phone to open the task switcher rather than double pressing home button.
     
  23. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #23
    Interesting that turning off wifi on control center doesn't equal to turning off wifi, I wonder why, positional accuracy?

    And Applefan has already answere you but here's a video if you would like to see it in action. It's really seamless, practical and basically reduced me from having to use the home button to only like 5%?



    I wished they chose a better background music and you can actually press on the home screen "card" so there's no need to press the home button like what's shown in this video
     
  24. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #24
    I didn't even do that. I just swiped right (using 3D Touch) from the left edge and went directly to my previous app. I didn't bother opening up the entire app switcher.
     
  25. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #25
    Yup, if you just want to get to your previous app, you can do that as well. It's really a very handy shortcut, quick swipe brings the previous app, a slower swipe brings out the entire app switcher. I wonder whose brilliant idea to remove it :annoyed:
     

Share This Page

63 September 19, 2017