3D Touch to Move Cursor

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cagcody, Dec 6, 2015.

  1. cagcody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #1
    I think one of my favorite features of 3D Touch is the ability to move the cursor around when you are typing. But it seems like it doesn't work all the time. For example, I'll use it to fix a word and then when I try to go back to the end to keep typing it doesn't do it sometimes, so you actually have to touch normal to continue. It's not a huge problem, but has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. Shikaka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #2
    I noticed the same.

    I think you have to immediately apply 3D Touch for he cursor to work. Once you touch a key, and then try to apply 3D afterward, it doesn't always work.
     
  3. The.316 macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #3
    Ive gotten it to work sometimes as well. I would try to move the cursor, but instead I would type a letter.
     
  4. canesalato macrumors 6502a

    canesalato

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
  5. Vexxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #5
    A bit tricky with 9.2 beta 4 too.

    When it is not working, moving cursor to an other location first (without 3d touch) usually helps.
     
  6. I_ndeed macrumors member

    I_ndeed

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    #6
    flick any key, wait a sec and then press harder
     
  7. cagcody thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #7
    9.2 didn't seem to help with the problem. I'm just glad I'm not the only one having issues with this.
     
  8. Newtons Apple macrumors G5

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    Mine seemed to work good at first and got harder and harder to use as time went on. Hoped 9.2 fixed but it did not.
     
  9. canesalato macrumors 6502a

    canesalato

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
  10. chris459 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #10
    Try this... Press and hold any letter lightly for about 1 second then with out letting go press harder. This will activate the cursor mode. I have not had one issue since I have switched to this method. If I try and force touch instantly I experience issues like the ones stated above. Hope this helps...
     
  11. Skika macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
  12. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #12
    This seems to be it
     
  13. Qbnkelt macrumors 65816

    Qbnkelt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    #13
    That's odd. Mine allows me to fix the typo by allowing for cursor placement. Sounds now like there are further actions I'm not using?
     
  14. canesalato macrumors 6502a

    canesalato

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #14
    You are right! it might be a "works as intended" still not so intuitive in my opinion
     

Share This Page