3d

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 300D, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #1
    Does the software exist to drive 3D on any of the current 3DTVs?
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    It seems there is. :)

    Take a look here and see where it takes you. I would note however, that the quality of the effect may be limited from a couple of quick reads here and there (i.e. reviews of an application I located; here's another for a different application).
     
  3. 300D thread starter macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #3
    No no no, I mean display 3D on a 3DTV without a bluray player. What kind of power would we be talking, quad core minimum?
     
  4. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_6; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.19.4 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.3 Safari/533.19.4)

    It depends on the GPU more than processor. To my knowledge there is no solution on OS X, apart eventually from high-end FX series cards. nVidia makes 3D Vision for some of its chipsets on Windows, while AMD-ATI use third party solutions via TriDef or IZ3D also on Windows... but your question is a bit confusing so you could be talking about something else altogether.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    It's up to the quality of the video. A 50Mb/s Blu-Ray rip will definitely need more horsepower than a 10Mb/s rip. I don't think playing 3D is much more intensive than 2D as long as the other factors are the same. Heck, there are laptops that can play 3D games just fine. NVidia states that the minimum needed for 3D Vision is Core 2 Duo or Athlon X2, so not exactly high requirements.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6

Share This Page