3g dongle with ipad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by caughtintheweb, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. caughtintheweb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a ipad first generation wifi model. I am looking to get rid of my wifi connection at home and switch to an att/verizon 3g dongle as I travel a lot. My question is how to connect my ipad with my 3g dongle. I need some kind of router which takes usb 3g dongle and converts into home wifi.

    Thanks
     
  2. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Search for a device called Mi-Fi.
     
  3. caughtintheweb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. My technical skills are extremely limited. Do you know of any good devices ?
     
  4. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    darn! beat me to it! I suggest a 3g modem, they sell them at verizon, some have 4g connectivity!
     
  5. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #5
    Mifis are one good option. I'd look at the Virgin Wireless Mifi, if you want to go that route. Another option is that a lot of wifi routers do have USB ports that can take a 3G or 4G USB model stick. Just do a bit of research, pick your model, etc.

    Good luck!
     
  6. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Advantage of MiFis are that they have batteries. Not sure if you can get a battery operated router.
     
  7. caughtintheweb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #7
    Dont need batteries. Though I need something portable as I have usb dongles in china and india where I work for 2-3 months a year. So I cant have something tied to a contract.
     
  8. caughtintheweb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #9
    How cum battery version is way cheaper than non battery.
     
  9. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #10
    They don't make that version anymore. There is probably a new battery version out now. But I have not used that one.

    Edit: also there were two difference t versions of firmware at one point, one that did 4g/3g and one that did only 3G. May be the difference as well.

    ----------

    This place is where I had bought the ones I have...they have other choices as well and are very helpful.

    http://3gstore.com/product/673_cradlepoint_phs300.html
     
  10. caughtintheweb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #11
    Thanks a lot for your help. I will look into it. Appreciate that !
     
  11. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
  12. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
  13. caughtintheweb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #14

Share This Page