3G frozen on Apple logo

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by strikingviking, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. strikingviking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #1
    I was planning to give my 3G to a friend and while doing a data erase, the screen locked up on the Apple logo with the spinning wheel frozen next to it.

    I tried holding down the power button and menu button to shut it off, which worked...but then when trying to restart it all over again, it locked up again.
    I also plugged it into two different Mac computers and iTunes does not recognize it.
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Was the iphone 3G JB?
    if it was then you cant do an erase all or it will get stuck like it did now.
    You need a DFU restore to revive it.
    Assuming you didnt have it unlocked with the ipad bb.
     
  3. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #3
    Thanks it was jail broke. How do I do a DFU? And then what do I restore it to?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Research how to enter dfu restore mode. And then it will restore to 4.2.1
     
  5. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #5
    Thanks I am doing that now and it seems to be working as it is downloading something that takes 16 minutes. I'll know very shortly.

    Can I then unlock the phone through the AT&A Unlock Program and then jail break the phone? Or do I have to use another means?
     
  6. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #6
    Okay the file finished downloading and the connection disappeared in iTunes while the screen on my iphone went dark. Nothing happened for a few minutes so I tried to restart the phone with the same original result---Apple logo frozen with spinning ball.
    Advice?
    Thanks again

    ----------

    I used this method:

    Follow the below steps and you are all set no worries:
    1- shutdown your iphone with the hard reset "home button and power for 10 second"
    2- connect the usb cable to the pc but NOT to the iphone"
    3- open itunes
    4- while the iphone is off, press the home button for 5-10 seconds then plus the other end of the white connection cable into the iphone
    5- do not remove your finger from the home button
    6- itunes will detect it and you can now restore it
    7- finally you need to jailbreak it again..follow the web instructions
     
  7. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #7
    I finally got it to restore but now since I already cut down my Mexican SIM card to fit my 4G I have no SIM to activate. All my iphone says it is capable of emergency calls only and iTunes says to insert a SIM card to go further. Any suggestions?
    Thanks again
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, you need a sim to activate it and get into the homescreen.
    You can try the AT&T unlock website but if you're not a customer they might not unlock it for you.
    There's also the ebay option that you can purchase an imei unlock for $6-7
    Give the seller the imei and then its factory unlocked and will work with any GSM sim.
    Up to you.
     
  9. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #9
    Thanks. I would try that if I could read that code. Right now I can only get the emergency call dial pad. Any other way to get the code? It does not show up on iTunes either.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Oh the IMEI number?
    You can get it, its written inside the sim tray once you pop it out.
    Also when you go for an emergency call it should display the IMEI number on the screen sowhere there.
     
  11. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #11
    Thanks I found it now. I also applied for an unlock through AT&T which they should grant like they did for my iPhone4--but won't I still need a SIM card?
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Yes, once its unlocked then any sim will activate it.
    But sometimes the AT&T unlock takes a week or so to go through.
     
  13. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #13
    Thanks. I'll give it a try and report back.
     
  14. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #15
    Worked perfectly! Thanks again.
    Is there a way to jail break that latest version 4.2 though?
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
  16. strikingviking thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #17
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Welcome bro.
     

Share This Page