3G in other countries?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MacMarf, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. MacMarf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #1
    So I was wondering when you get the 3G iPad, and let's say activate 3G for a month, can you only use it in the US, or is it available in other countries too? Assuming you get the unlimited data plan. And what are the limitations? No youtube, or anything?

    Thanks
     
  2. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
    #2
    We will let you know when Apple releases the Ipad in any other country outside the US
     
  3. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #3
    Imagine your iPhone with only a data account. No voice calling. This is what you will get with a 3G iPad. It is unlocked and can be used anywhere. Simply cut a sim card down to micro-sim size, insert it, turn it on, wait for connection and away you go.

    This is really simple stuff. You can also call Apple and have them tell you the same thing.
     
  4. aviationwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #4
    International iPad data plan information has yet to be announced. If you look on this page, you can see the option for "Add International Plan": http://www.apple.com/ipad/3g/

    I suspect the details on the International Plans won't be available until the iPad 3G is available itself.
     
  5. Sleazy E macrumors 65816

    Sleazy E

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    Disneyland
    #5
    nope, if you are US then its US only 3G. Anything outside of the US you will need either an international plan or a lot of extra money because using the 3G outside of your coverage area is expensive. I found that out the hard way on my last trip to Cancun :eek:
     
  6. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #6
    This. The mb's you pay all that money for are garbage as well. A bit cheaper pricing is in the works I hope.
     
  7. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #7
    You are partially correct but mostly wrong.

    Wi-Fi + 3G model
    UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    Do you see the part about 2100Mhz? This is the 3G band that the iPad will connect on. This is an INTERNATIONAL standard. Using in France, Finland, Germany, Spain, etc.... You get the point. You can put ANY micro-sim card in the iPad and use it according to your local data plan. If you are in Germany, you get a German micro-sim, put it in, turn it on and away you go. If you leave Germany and go to Spain, you can purchase a pay as you go Spanish micro-sim and use data there.
     
  8. MacMarf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #8
    Okay, thanks guys.
    Pretty misleading actually, since on the Apple site it says the following:
    the unlimited plan. Best of all, there’s no contract. So if you have a business trip or vacation approaching, just sign up for the month you’ll be traveling and cancel when you get back. "

    Assuming I go on vacation to another country.

    Thanks anyways!
     
  9. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #9
    That about sums it up. I travel to other countries quite often so I have a handful of sim cards. I will just chop them down to micro-sim size, purchase some pay as you go plans while there and be happy.
     
  10. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #10

    What?

    No you don't need a international plan. The pads are unlocked.

    You need a SIM for the region you're in. (Either proper or if it works cut down)

    Are you taking about mobile roaming with your iPhone when you hadn’t set the APN to a local carrier?
     
  11. Robin4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    #11
    How much do you think a SIM would cost in Germany, France or Spain?

    And, where would you buy them?
     
  12. michaelruggeri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #12
    I posted this on the thread above on international plans and I will post it here on this thread.

    I just went to the Apple Store to check this all out. The Apple tech person told me that the system is open. So you will not be moving micro chips around. Instead, you will cancel your AT&T plan before traveling and when you get to your travel destination, just click on settings and the iPad will tell you which national companies there offer a monthly plan. You can choose one, see what their rates are, and if your like the rates which are based on national rates and not huge AT&T international roaming rates and huge per minute charges, you can then just click on the monthly rate and company you like and you are in. No looking for stores to find microchips and swapping out chips.

    This looks great and is far better and easier than I thought it would be.

    Mike Ruggeri
     
  13. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    If that's the case it'd be great.
     
  14. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #14
    WHAT!!!!

    If you got to Spain, you have to get a Spanish card from Telefonica, or Italy a card from TIM, Finland it will be Sonera, and it goes on and on. If you leave your AT&T card in the iPad then go to another country and start using data, you are roaming and will be paying roaming costs. Period. There is no way around this. The AT&T rep that told you this is wrong, wrong, wrong. Did I mention how wrong the AT&T rep is? He lied to you so that you would roam on AT&T outside of the US and you believed him. Dude this is too easy to check.
     
  15. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #15
    That's not the case. If you want to use mobile GSM data in other countries, you have to purchase a local sim card for that countries operators. How is hard to understand? It is pretty much common sense. You go to Iceland, you get a sim card from an Icelandic operator. Are these types of things really not know in the US?
     
  16. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #16
  17. michaelruggeri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #17
    Hi Gillybean,

    I know that is what we thought. But what I posted is what I was told directly at the Apple Store by the tech person. She said there was no chip involved. If you have an Apple Store near you, maybe you could confirm this yourself.

    I am just passing on what was told to me by an Apple Tech who was there to answer questions about the iPad and was very knowledgeable.

    Mike
     
  18. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #18
    They may have known about the iPad but they know nothing about traveling abroad and roaming agreements. You were given incorrect advice.
     
  19. LivingLarge macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #19
    Exactly sapporo. one needs the sim from whatever country they want to use. I hope the Apple tech that told the other poster that is corrected,so they stop giving out the mis-info.
     
  20. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #20
    I happen to travel quite often. I work for the government. Have MBP, iPad 3G7wifi (to be delivered on the 30th), and a pocket full of sim cards and I am set.

    The AT&T rep was uber-wrong and the info posted here confirming that is also misleading.
     
  21. Elzlaik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #21
    I just phoned Apple Technical support and they agreed the sim cards won't work like that. It would be awesome, but it won't happen.

    While I'm here. Does anyone foresee an issue in buying an American iPad 3G and popping in a Canadian microsim when they come out here?
     
  22. Robin4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    #22
    I suppose I am not too smart then. I tried looking for it and couldn't get anywhere. BTW I tried looking in Spanish and in French, nothing. Thanks anyway. I can use that information.

    Also, when I asked at the APPLE store if I could use my 3g chip in Europe (I also stated that I thought I needed to buy a SIM in a foreign country, which I have done before for my phone but paid and obnoxious amount at the airport), an Apple employee told me that I didn't need anything at all as the iPad would work as it is. I left thinking that I'm going to have to research this a bit more.
     
  23. myusernamesucks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #23
    Seriously, seriously conidering it.......Rather not wait for the end of May if I don't have to. The only thing holding me back is that Rogers always seems to find a way to screw us Canucks over - if I knew that Rogers would be offering the MicroSim for sale (or that cutting it down will, in fact, work) then I'd do it in a heartbeat.

    I suppose I could always sell on eBay and buy Canadian version when it comes out however.......

    AUUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
     
  24. Elzlaik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #24
    I can't imagine Rogers caring. I mean what difference does it make to them where we got our iPads? We will still be paying them each month. And you would think they must have extra simcards on hand to replace damaged ones or whatever. But like you I am torn.
     
  25. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #25
    Here you Robin4,

    For the sake of everyone else here. Think of the iPad as an iPhone that does not make calls and only uses data. If you took your iPhone to another country and it was unlocked, you would have to use a locally purchased Sim card in it so that you would not roam. The same is true with the iPad 3G versions. You need to purchase a local micro-sim card (or make your own by simply cutting it to size), to use local data services at local costs. Apple or AT&T or both are giving incorrect information that is confusing people.
     

Share This Page