3g iphone - has it been unlocked yet?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by h2009, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. h2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #1
    I keep reading contradicting webpages about the 3G iphone and if its been unlocked.

    Can someone link me to a guide where it has been done (if its been done) with software?

    thanks
     
  2. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    It hasn't been unlocked.

    blog.iphone-dev.org/

    Is all you need to keep your eye on.

    They will update if its unlocked.

    /Thread
     
  3. h2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #3
    Thnanks for your reply

    Ok so at the moment turbo sim is the only way then.
    Using the turbo sim is it easy to do - i.e. plug in and play?
     
  4. stiphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #4
    does anyone knows if turbosim or rebelsim really works? Would it be useless offer a firmware upgrade from Apple? That's not much of a point if it works like a software unlock.
     
  5. ibeauty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #5
    unlock the i phone

    I am trying to unlock my I phone too but having trouble. Did you find a way to do it using the plug and play and do you know where i can get one from?

    Thank you:)
     
  6. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
  7. ibeauty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #7
    No i mean unlocking!!! Jail breaking the iphone is allowing to install 3rd applications for free- unlocking the iphone lets you use it with other carriers- I want to know if it can be unlocked yet- i.e so i can use it with other networks!
     
  8. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #8
    we arent retarded we know what u mean lol
     
  9. ibeauty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #9
    well why did you say 'jailbreak not unlock then' when the subject we were talking about was unlocking!!!!
     
  10. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #10
    3G or 2G?

    2G: Simple using winpwn or pwnage
    3G: Situation hasn't changed since the start of the thread.........
     
  11. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #11
    It was unlocked with a sim card adapter thing, but not a jailbreak.
     
  12. s4play macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #12
    thanks guys for the wealth of info - I will subscribe to this thread!
     
  13. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #13
    because most people confuse the two
     
  14. allgyer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #14
    Turbor Sim With 3G works....... (sort of!)

    I am using Turbor SIM ( http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Turbor-SIM-...39:1|66:2|65:12|240:1308&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14)

    with a 3G 16GB phone, pwned with 2.0.2 iPhone software. Using it with China Mobile SIM card in Singapore. It works! with the following problems:

    1) No 3G. In fact, you must turn off 3G (Settings/General/Network) and reboot, otherwise "No Service".
    2) When I plug the phone into iTunes on my Macbook Pro I get and "Invalid SIM" message and the phone will not show up for syncing. Here is my workaround: Pop the SIM tray out slightly so the "No SIM" message shows on the screen. Then plug into the USB port and the phone will be recognized. You can then reseat the SIM tray (without unplugging the USB!) and sync.

    Has anyone else observed this behavior? Using iTunes 7.7

    Anyway.... as an interim measure the Turbor SIM makes the phone useful in 2G countries.

    Anxiously awaiting a real software unlock.
     

Share This Page