3G Jailbreak with Redsnow??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Gix1k, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Gix1k macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    K...I did my 3GS yesterday using this link http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4447 It went smooth..done! I started to do the same thing on my wife's 3G. I encountered a problem. I open Redsnow, I point to the same 3.0 firmware, it confirms it. I hit next it does the kernel part. Then it tells me to turn off and hold home button and plug back in. I do this, same way I did my 3GS, but Redsnow says "Waiting for reboot" and crashes. I was not able to get it done. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?
     
  2. Gix1k thread starter macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #2
    Is the 3.0 firmware the same for the 3G as it is the 3GS? I am pointing RedSnow to the firmware I used on the 3GS.
     
  3. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    The 3gs and the 3g use different 3.0 firmware :)
     
  4. whuybr0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    Did a JB of a 3G (iPhone OS 3.0.1) last weekend with redsn0w 0.8. Had the same message 'waiting for reboot'. Just unplugged and replugged the USB cable and everything went smoothly.
     
  5. Gix1k thread starter macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #5

    Sweet...I think my issue is I was using the 3GS firmware on her phone. I am going to try with the correct firmware later today. If it hangs, i'll do the cable pull and plug trick. Thanks!
     
  6. Gix1k thread starter macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #6
    Redsnow keeps crashing!!! :mad: It gets all the way to DFU mode, screen on phone shows the harddrive saying downloading jailbreak and then I get a "redsnow stopped working" error. I have to reset phone. I have used 0.72 and 0.8
     
  7. whuybr0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    Did you try to JB while logged on to your mac using an administrator account ?
    I read somewhere this is necessary.
    BTW the firmware I used to JB the iPhone 3G (3.0.1) with redsn0w 0.8 is iPhone1,2_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw.

    hopes this helps you furhter.
     
  8. chillwillya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #8
    I open Redsnow and the welcome screen appears but when I browse for IPSW,the iphone 3.0 firmware doesnt appear
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    You need to download a 3.0 IPSW.

    Are you sure you mean 3.0 and not 3.1? In case, redsn0w is not on 3.1 yet.
     

Share This Page