3G out in Orange County (CA)?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by GoCubsGo, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #1
    I called AT&T because as of mid-day yesterday I was having major problems getting on the internet from my phone. They claim there is no outage and I seem to be the only one affected. After restoring my phone and such I still cannot seem to make a solid connection. I can get to the mobile site for MR, but I cannot navigate past the main page for the most part. I get "Safari stopped responding."

    Of course once i mentioned Safari, AT&T told me this was Apple's fault. :rolleyes:

    I want to see if anyone else is having an issue.
     
  2. ShutterBugSteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    Same Issue Here

    Hi,

    I've been having the same issue since the middle of last week. I went so far as to take my phone to the Apple store at Crystal Court and had it replaced. The Genius looked at my download speeds on 3G (~20 kbps) and compared the phone with his on 3G (~650 kbps) and said, "Yes, there is something wrong with your phone."

    After replacing the phone, I still get ~20 kbps on 3G. I spent about 2 hours in an AT&T store with the sales rep swapping out SIM cards and resetting my account. I got ~25 kbps on 3G.

    I've spent about 2 hours on the phone with Apple Care phone support and AT&T technical support. I now get ~25 kbps on 3G.

    If I switch 3G off, I can get about 150 kbps, but why the hell would I own an iPhone 3G just to run on Edge? I'm seriously about to throw my phone as I think that would be faster than trying to download things from the internet at this point.

    Head over to http://i.dslr.net/tinyspeedtest.html to test your download speeds. Be prepared to wait as I have a feeling you're in the same predicament as me.

    I'll keep this post updated if I figure anything out...
     
  3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    i'm having similar issues. turning the phone on and off would fix it sometimes, but it's still been somewhat spotty.
     
  4. GoCubsGo thread starter macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    I did manage to spend some time with the lovely reps at AT&T yesterday (on the phone). I had a billing question anyway and figured I was doing no-brainer work so why not talk to them?

    I haven't tested my speeds but they did reset my network and I could finally get to google.com. I couldn't even get there ... by that time they knew I had an issue. I'll test the speeds later today and let you know.

    I only noticed it on Sunday, it is possible it was going on sooner, but I was probably using more wifi than 3G. And I agree, turning off 3G on your 3G phone is a ridiculous fix.
     
  5. hapa17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #5
    i've TOTALLY noticed the same problem here in anaheim! my iphone crapped out a couple weeks ago...it wasn't picking up a signal at all to activate. so, i traded it in at the brea mall apple store. the new one seemed to work fine except for the 3G. edge was kickin 3G's ASS! so i traded it in again at the south coast apple store, and this one seems to work a bit more consistently, but it's still not as solid as it was before my original one pooped out. is it our network here in OC??? i'm so relieved to see other people report in on this!
     
  6. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #6
    today i was able to load google (once) and a link to a flickr page, but that was it. no other page loaded for me while on 3g earlier today. strangely, beejive worked ok.
     
  7. pkagel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal ExPat
    #7
    I'm at San Onofre right now and it's just fine.
     
  8. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #8
    do people live out in san onofre? i thought it was just where they kept the nuclear power plant. and technically speaking, isn't san onofre san diego county?
     
  9. pkagel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal ExPat
    #9
    technically, yes it is in SD county but people do live right above the beach here. I'm at the plant right now. I also get a fine 3G signal all the way up in San Clemente.
     
  10. ShutterBugSteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #10
    Well, I spent some time on the phone with Apple Care last night and they want me to go in and swap phones again. If it still doesn't work, I have to call AT&T to have them "purge and rebuild" my account profile.

    I'll let you all know if any of this works for me.
     
  11. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
  12. hapa17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #12
    PLEASE DO report back in once you've gone through all of this. i've had three iphones in the last week, so i'm hesitant to count it simply as a bunch of hardware malfunction. it's gotta be our local reception, right? the theory about the fires is interesting, though it doesn't seem that bad around here anymore, if you're talking smoke.
     
  13. ShutterBugSteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #13
    Well, I just got back from the Apple store with iPhone 3G #3. Still crap for 3G reception. Now I have to make time to sit on the phone wiht AT&T and have them rebuild my profile. I think that will have to wait until after work though. I'll post another update on that after it's done.

    I guess I'll have to complain about a bill adjustment too since I've been paying for something I don't have...
     
  14. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #14
    Good luck with that. The contract says you pay wether you get the 3G or not. :(
     
  15. ShutterBugSteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #15
    Well, after spending about another 30 minutes on the phone with AT&T, I now seem to have 3G again. Not sure what they did but I am now writing this while connected via 3G. I hope this lasts. I'll check in again tomorrow to see if the speeds hold up.
     
  16. hapa17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #16
    engulfed in much research, i found this website:

    www.iphone3gworks.com

    the guy who authored this site appears to be quite active in the apple.com forums exploring 3G connectivity issues. he seems to think having your IMEI number in the phone consistent with what AT&T has listed in its computers is important, as well as trying to get a new SIM card from AT&T. i'm willing to give this a shot since the SIM card has been the one consistent since i've started encountering this problem. again, it used to work perfectly fine, but since the antenna pooped out on my original 3G iphone, all the replacement phones are not snappy on 3G at all. maybe something's got to be worked out with the SIM and/or IMEI. maybe even AT&T did something with ShutterBugSteve's IMEI number? i don't know. a lot of conjecture here. but i am game to try the SIM card replacement, especially since it's supposedly free.

    ShutterBugSteve: did the AT&T people give any indication what they did to resolve your problem?
     
  17. ShutterBugSteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #17
    I wish I knew what they did. They did confirm the IMEI number I the new phone though. He didn't really say what he was checking, just that he noticed some inconsitencies in my account. I forgot to ask what those were, I was just happy to be getting decent 3G speeds. If these speeds hold up tomorrow, I'll be really happy.
     
  18. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #18
    I just upgraded my first gen iPhone to a 3G and have noticed that it's only showing 'E' as well. I think I'm gonna have to stop by the store today. Sigh...
     

Share This Page