3G signal strengths

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by amro, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. amro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #1
    Before the next firmware update, I thought I'd post my signal strengths and compare to others.

    I found that you can get actual dB readings by typing this into your dial pad: *3001#12345#* Tap the actual number to toggle between number and bars.

    These are the readings I got:

    1-2 bars = -103 to -99 dB
    3-5 bars = -93 to -77

    Remember a smaller negative number is actually an increase in signal strength. And an increase of 3db (eg -103 to -100) would roughly be a doubling of signal strength or power received at the antenna. The readings I show are very rough and should be taken as an approximation.

    BTW, I'm one of the few or many (depending on how you look at it) that is very very happy with my toy. It's white, has no cracks and syncs in less than 5 min. Never a phone a crash, but a few apps crash. Oh, and MobileMe pushes perfectly.
     
  2. Enlite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    Well first time giving it a shot, and amazingly when I was trying it, couldn't even maintain a freaking 3g signal. Switched over to Edge. -83 for Edge, but like that matters much.
     
  3. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
  4. amro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    How many bars did you get at -101? You should have seen anywhere from 1-2.

    Remember, you can toggle between bars and numbers just by touching the actual signal strength number.
     
  5. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
  6. Slovak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #6
    The numbers jump around, but mostly stay at -97. Every once in a while I will get a -99, maybe -103. Then back to -97.
     
  7. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #7
    I travel from Carmel to Monterey to Watsonville to Santa Cruz and needless to say AT&T really did wonderful things for 3G this week!

    Last week I had almost no Edge at my house now I'm -95 on 3G.
     
  8. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
  9. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Haha, I'll say! I was so surprised when I looked at my phone last week, and saw five bars of 3G. I wasn't expecting 3G in Santa Cruz for a while...
     
  10. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #10
    It doesn't show me, what am I doing wrong?

    (am I meant to tap call or...??)
     
  11. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    I get -81 in Sweden, Gävle with Telia full bars on 3G in a building but at home i don't have that much, only like 1-2 bars
     
  12. ^0^eddiE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Macau
    #12
    mine gets -79 with 5 bars at home in Macau, China. The carrier here is pretty good, i constantly get between 4-5 bars no matter where i m.:)
     
  13. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
  14. citrate macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
  15. imac9556 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #15
    Hey guys, I have a weird problem. I cannot the get field test mode reading to go away from my iPhone. I did the *3001#12345# and my "bars" turned to a db reading (-63, etc)
    someone said you can leave the reading on the phone by holding the home button down to force quit the test mode...it worked, but now I cannot get rid of it. I tried shutting down and restarting the phone, opening field test mode and quitting again, but it is stuck. Anyone got a suggestion?
    Thanks, Paul
     
  16. chimpboy74 macrumors 6502a

    chimpboy74

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
  17. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #17
    have you tried holding down the home button again?
     
  18. amro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #18
    I don't hold the home button to exit. Just press it like you would any application to exit it. Not sure if holding the home button to kill the application is the right thing to do.
     
  19. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
  20. ishopukisfake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #20
    Thanks for that info on how to check signal strength more accurately.

    It depends what room I'm in in my house. I recently found out one of the mobile masts across from my town is 3G, I get -79 5bar, -83 4 bar, and sometimes 3 bar or switching to standard signal in a back room. I walked into a front room so there were less walls between me and where i think the 3G mast is and from the window got -65 5 bar, amazing the difference a few walls can make.
     
  21. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
  22. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
  23. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #23
    in northridge san fernado valley just goes from 1 to 4 to 5 bars in my house without even moving my phone depends regularly its like 3 but i do have 3g :D
     

Share This Page