3G stuck in recovery mode, other troubles

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by tessalt, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. tessalt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #1
    Hey there, I have a very troubled iphone. It is second hand and was jailbroken and unlocked when I got it.

    It originally failed when I accidentally clicked update, got the whole emergency screen/sim card not supported. I took it to a guy I know, and he got it working like a phone (re-jailbroke it I believe) but it still wouldn't sync with itunes (SIM card unsupported error)

    On the advice of many forums, I bought an AT&T SIM card and reset the whole thing (I know, dumb). Now it is a brick again! The screen is the itunes icon and USB cable image, when I plug it in itunes says its in recovery mode, so I click restore, and then I get an error that it can't restore (1015)

    I've tried most of the fixes I've found online, like RecBoot, or endless restarts and DFU cycles. I've tried restoring it with 3.1.2 and 3.1.3, SIM card in, SIM card out, Vrigin SIM card, AT&T SIM card.

    Help!
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    Put the iPhone in DFU mode here: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034

    Then restore with an official iphone 3g 3.1.2 ipsw here: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750

    Once the iPhone restores at the finish it will give you the 1015 error. After seeing that use TinyUmbrella to kick your iPhone out of recovery here: http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/

    If you have any more issues post back.
     
  3. tessalt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #3
    Tried your instructions, now I'm back where I was a couple weeks ago, stuck in "emergency call" screen and itunes says The SIM card doesn't seem to be supported etc. Which is BS because I'm using an AT&T SIM card.
     
  4. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    Unplug the iPhone with the sim in and plug it back in to the computer. It should activate in iTunes.

    If not, Redsn0w will activate the iPhone after the jailbreak. http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7443
     
  5. tessalt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #5
    Is there any way to find out what firmware version I have? (Instructions for resdsn0w are different for each) The emergency screen shows the OLD itunes icon, so I think it's one of the 3's...
     
  6. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    You mean the OS or the baseband? If you restored with 3.1.2 then you'll be on 3.1.2.

    The baseband for OS 3.1.2 is 5.11

    Download F0recast.
     
  7. Captinsmooth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Few things here to point out. Since you updated to 4.2.1 firmware, that caused your baseband to be updated to 5.14.04 which there is no unlock for. There is no way to downgrade baseband, it only goes up. The only thing you can do at this point is to use the new redsn0w that uses the 6.15.00 ipad baseband from firmware 3.2.2. You can get all this from here http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    You need to read about this before doing, you will always have to restore to a custom jailbreak firmware after this, due to the baseband mismatch.
    Once you use redsn0w you can use pwnage tool for mac or sn0wbreeze for pc to make a custom firmwares.
     
  8. tessalt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #8
    Tried both the redsn0w versions and pwnage tool versions mentioned in that article, tried to restore with custom ipsw, but now I get a new error code, yay.
    Could not be restored, unknown error (1600)
     
  9. tessalt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #9
    Also now it's really a brick. Black screen. Doesn't change.
     

Share This Page