3G with 3.1 & blackrain unlock, dropping network. Do I go to devteam?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by teadigger, Mar 9, 2010.

1. teadigger macrumors member

Hi I have posted because I can not find a search that matches my strange problem. will give you the full details, I got the phone through friend of friend for my wife they claimed it would not recognise any sim.
    Got phone and Blackrain was installed but not completed. Easy fix I thought ran set up installed cydia and snow unlock. Phone worked after some fiddling on Orange. since I have had the Network lost, tried the reset all settings sim in and out ect, tried sim from my iphone no joy. Is it a software clash with 3.1
    what next?

3G

Running firmware 3.1/7C144

Would it be best to unlock from the devteam as it seems more stable. No dis-respect to geohot as he sounds a genius. I am on mac so will I need download correct firmware for unlock. I am new to all this, so advice in baby steps please. many thanks teadigger

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

The Dev team didnt put out an unlock for the 05.11.07 baseband. Just the previous one with ultrasnow.
    Only option is to use blacksnow.
    I'd suggest a restore to factory 3.1.2 and then run redsnow to JB and then install blacksnow thru cydia to unlock.

3. teadigger thread starter macrumors member

can I download from iclarified

Currently my mac wants to change it to 3.1.3 do i need to down load 3.1.2 from iclarified and then follow redsnow jailbreak. I presume I need to restore using the iclarified firmware before I run red snow. Do I need get rid of blackrain which allowed the jail break, although I uninstalled it when loading the JB it is now currently running CYDIA on the phone. Asking because will it cause a clash.

4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Dont let it update thru itunes to 3.1.3
    You will lose your unlock.
    Yes restore to 3.1.2 from iclarified.