3GB Mem in MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by machurdler, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. machurdler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    For those of you who have done it, How badly does the graphics performance decline? I'm considering upgrading my memory to 3GB, but I'm not so sure how the graphics will do. I guess if It gets bad I could just take the 1GB stick out...
     
  2. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #2
    For the maximum performance, you'd need to install 2x2GB sticks for (roughly) 3GB. At least I think that would still give you dual channel mode.

    Otherwise, just stick to 2GB.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    According to OWC, the performance hit from no Dual Channel is minimal.

    We have tested 3 Gb in a Blackbook and it ran fine, did not benchmark it however.
     
  4. machurdler thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Does upgrading your memory yourself void your warranty?
     
  5. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #5
    No. It's a user replaceable part in both the Macbook and Macbook Pro, and looks very easy to replace.
     

Share This Page