3GB on MacBook C2D 2.16

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by D4F, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. D4F Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #1
    Can somebody please direct me how to do it, where and which memory to buy?

    Greatly appreciated
    :apple:
     
  2. Kendall015 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #2
    The Macbook uses DDR2 PC2-5300 Ram, just like the MBP (of that vintage). In order to get 3GB of RAM you have to install a 1GB and a 2GB DIMM, but it won't be dual channel (which means there will be a small performance hit). You could shell out the big bucks and get two 2GB DIMMs, but the MB will only recognize 3GB out of the 4GB. This is an Intel problem, which was addressed with the release of the Santa Rosa platform (now in the iMacs and MBPs).
     
  3. Kendall015 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
  4. D4F thread starter Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #4
    Superb answer.
    Thank you very much!

    *2 2GB ordered :D
    :apple:
     
  5. D4F thread starter Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #6
  6. D4F thread starter Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth

Share This Page