3gb performance bottleneck

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by -BigMac-, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. -BigMac- macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    hi guys,
    got a stock 2010 MP with 3gb ram.
    how much performance am i missing out on compared to say, a 9gb/12gb ram config?

    I use the MP for:
    - CS5
    - Final Cut Pro X
    - Fullscreen Multi tab/window browsing
    - Games - bootcamp x64 - BC2, MW2, F1 2010.

    Extra info:
    - 27" ACD
    - 5770
    - 1066 ECC

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    3GB of RAM in any "Pro" computer is not enough these days; you should at the very least double it immediately.
     
  3. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    When I switched from 3GB to 12GB the machine really took off. Right now I'm changing the copyright data in photos in huge batches using Bridge CS5. There is no free memory. I should have got (and will soon get) 24GB. I often run Photoshop CS5 and Aperture 3 at the same time.
     
  4. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #4
    What kind of improvement am i likely to see from such an upgrade? is there any stats on it?

    you have a 3 x 4gb config? how much did that set you back? :)
     
  5. you39 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #5
    The question is academic. Just upgrade.
     
  6. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #6
    yea for sure i want to, but i wont upgrade if the performance improvement will be like 10%.. does a 30% improvement seem reasonable? especially with the windows games..
     
  7. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #8
    that actually helped out a lot, thanks.
    I've ordered 16gb just then, for a little over $250 :)
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    That's a good choice.
     
  9. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Just did this a while ago. You'll notice the improvement immediately:).
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    :cool: Glad it helped. :)
     
  11. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #12
    Hi guys.
    Ran into an issue and didnt really think starting a new thread would be necessary. I installed the new 16gb ram. All is working 'correctly'

    [​IMG]

    theres a problem now.
    The memory installation utility appears on every single boot. With a message that the memory was installed properly.

    I looked online for a solution to stop it appearing, but there was never a solution found for it.
    Maybe you guys could help me out there..

    Thanks again :)
     
  12. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
    I paid about $420USD to OWC for it. The current cost is down to $137.99US !!! Such is the direction that RAM prices are going that the 24GB (3x8GB) is almost down to what I paid for 12GB.
     

Share This Page