3gs/3.0.1 "device isn't eligible" message

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tfyoung, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. tfyoung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #1
    I have a fairly new 3gs running 3.0.1 (7A400). Never jailbroken (yet). When I try to restore to the .ipsw file from iClarify, iPhone2,1_3.0.1_7A400_Restore.ipsw, I get the "This device isn't eligible for the requested build." message. It sounds like I may have a phone with the updated bootrom that won't allow restoring to this ipsw. The Dev Team appears to have a new version of Pwnage Tools for Mac that will get around this, but I'm running Vista. Is my best bet to wait for the Windows version of the new Pwnage Tools to show up? Or am I doing something else wrong? BTW, my wife has a MacBook Pro, but she might get nervous if I start messing with it.

    I also tried iPhone2,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw from iClarify but got the same message. How should I proceed?

    Thanks
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Are you trying to JB this or restore it to official Apple firmware ?

    Apple quit signing the Apple 3.0 and 3.0.1 IPSW's for the 3GS, so you cannot restore to either one of these firmwares.

    If you want to JB to 3.1.2, get the correct custom restore IPSW for your phone, hacktivated or not hacktivated (non-official sim vs official sim) and use iTunes to install it on your PC (be sure and shift + click so you can browse for the correct IPSW).

    If DFU mode doesn't work, try restore mode.
     
  3. tfyoung thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #3
    I want to jailbreak. But I would like to unlock also. I've read that I might not be able to unlock after jailbreaking 3.1 if the phone has never been jailbroken before. Is that true?
     
  4. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #4
    Apple modified the restore process on the 3G S so that you can't restore to anything but the newest firmware unless you previously had the ECID SHSH stored. If you're still on 3.0.1, use redsn0w 0.8 to jailbreak it. If you want to be running JB 3.1.2, use redsn0w on 3.0/3.0.1 first, and then use pwnagetool to create a custom 3.1.2 firmware.
     
  5. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #5
    That's correct, and as the poster above said you need to follow a different process.

    As you're still on 3.0.1, you can jailbreak (and unlock with ultrsn0w) that version.

    You could choose to leave it like that if you want. You didn't say in your post why you were trying to restore.

    Or, you can create a custom 3.1.2 version with Pwnage (using the macbook) and install that with iTunes. You will still be jailbroken, and ultrasn0w will still work with that custom version to unlock the phone. Doing it this way does not update your baseband, it leaves the unlockable version there.

    If you can't use the macbook, well search this forum and you'll find some pointers about where to look to download a custom ipsw.
     
  6. tfyoung thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #6
    I followed the instructions above. The phone was jailbroken and unlocked running 3.0.1. I was emboldened by my success. I used my wife's macbook to create the custom ipsw for 3.1.2. I moved the file to my PC and used Itunes to restore to the new ipsw. Now, the phone doesn't recognize my sim card which is ATT. I tried a T-Mobile sim card as well. It acts like an Ipod instead of a phone. I have wifi and some of my apps restored including cydia. But no phone service. What did I do wrong? And what can I do now?

    Thanks
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    If you are using an official iPhone carrier sim you have to uncheck the activate phone box. If you are not on an official iPhone carrier sim, you have to check the box to hacktivate. Doing it backwards, either way, and you will get no signal

    Use Expert mode.

    Also, 3G and 3GS are the iPhone icon on the right side, select that one.
     

Share This Page