iPhone 3gs call failed and no wifi signal

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by muerte83, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. muerte83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #1
    I have a Jailbroken 3gs which worked fine for about six to eight months when I first jailbroke it, now suddenly whenever I try to make a call, I lose both my phone signal and wifi.

    Normally browsing wifi is no problem until I attempt to make a call.

    Usually the phone makes the call and it rings but then it just stops and there is a 'Call Failed' message on the screen and I can see the signal bar all the way down right before it disappears.


    I notice when this happens, scrolling the menu's becomes quite laggy.

    I first noticed this a few weeks ago when downloading skype and instagram off Kuiayong repeatedly a few times because they kept failing. It may be just a coincidence but that's around the same time I first started having these issues. I've since deleted them and I'm still having the dropped calls and wifi.

    Iphone 3gs MC131ZP
    Version: 5.0.1 [9a405]
    Modem Firmware: 05.16.05


    I got into all this jailbreaking several months ago when I jailbroke my iphone but I'm no longer familiar with any of that snice it was quite a while ago. I've done a few searches about this problem and I will continue to do more, but right now I don't have much time for it so any info about this would be a help. Thanks.
     
  2. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    This is what happens when you use "cracked" apps.

    Restore your phone to stock using iTunes.
    Choose set up as new, do not restore to backup or you will reintroduce the corrupted code that is causing your phone not to work
    Restore your content using the tabs in iTunes.
     
  4. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #4
    Is there any possible way I can do this without losing data?

    What if I just manually delete all the apps and stuff like cydia, reinstall or re-jailbreak it from it's current state?
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    Dump your 5.0.1 blobs first using iFaith (windows only) if cydia doesn't have any for you

    Make an iTunes backup. Browse to the backup folder and make a copy of that backup folder

    Then restore and then restore from backup and see if the problem is fixed. If not, try restoring as new and see if the problem is fixed. If not, then it's probably a hardware problem

    If you want 5.0.1, then you will need SHSH blobs and also to restore with a custom firmware package

    you can follow these instructions: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=18198419#post18198419

    The only difference would be the SHSH blobs you're using
     
  6. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #6
    I have no clue what any of that is, but I'll give it a go over the weekend when I have time.
     
  7. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #7
    Guys, I hope you can help me out as I seem to have mucked it up even more.

    I tried restoring it on itunes, my first attempt resulted in the "itunes is backing up" or "restoring" thing with the progress bar on itunes but nothing happened for a few hours so I manually disconnected the phone. The same thing happened two other times but it seemed to work after I reset my pc. The phone had the same progress bar as on itunes and it seemed to be going well.


    After a while all I see is the apple logo on the phone. I've tried resetting it several times and doing the firmware update and restore but all I get is this loop. There are no error codes.

    Now it seems the phone won't even charge and all I get is the red battery thing. I connect it to the pc and it shows the apple logo for a while but as soon as I disconnect it the red battery shows up.



    I didn't expect this at all. I jb'd my 3gs with the latest jb program and I didn't change the baseband or any of that, so I don't know what's causing the conflict with the restore....
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    does your phone charge when you plug it to the wall?
     
  9. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #9
    nope:(
     
  10. muerte83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #10
    Well I've kept it on the charger for two days and nothing has changes, I still get the low battery icon when I disconnect it. When I connect it to my pc, I get the apple logo and the same low batt icon as soon as I disconnect it so I can't get it into safe mode or dfu mode.

    I've read a lot of other posts about this and other users in similar situations, most of them seem to get an error mode which indicates the nature of the problem but I get nothing but this loop...

    Did I mess this up?


    I'll probably give this to someone else to try or sell it for parts. Is there any chance if someone is able to recover it from this state my old data will be readily available to them or recovered? Apart from some slightly embarrassing photo's in the gallery, I have financial info and passwords stored in notes and pdf form in the phone.
     

Share This Page