3GS: Different Updates on Different Country?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by benna, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. benna macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    Guys,

    here is somethin for you guys to figure out. I had brought a 3GS from Honk Kong couple of months ago (32GB) and today i brought a 3GS from Italy for my dad (16GB)

    Here is the screenshot of the home screen taken from both the phones.

    [​IMG]

    This is from the 3GS, 32GB (Hong Kong)

    [​IMG]

    This is from the 16 GB 3GS (Italy)

    You guys find any difference? No? Well, notice the weather icon on both of the screen shots, on the hong kong version it says 73 and on the Italian version it says 23. And if you save both pictures to you pc and see them near by, you can notice that the italian version of the icon is bit more lighter. Does this mean that Software updates are released based on the orgin of the phone? Both of them are running the latest version, 3.1.2

    And also, i did a comparison on both of them, and the screen in the Italian version looks like lighter, (the blue color bar on top of apps appears light, doesnt actually seem to be blue, looks like somewhat gray and on the hong kong version its blue), on full brightness.
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    One is set up for celcius one is set up for farenheit.

    All countries use the same software just different basebands depending on network.
     
  3. benna thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    Both of them are set to Celcius. I've double checked on both
     
  4. thisonechance macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Then don't go outside. It is 163 degrees Fahrenheit!
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    I didn't mean in the app. I ment acording to the phones original location
     
  6. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Go to Settings > General > International > And select a Region Format.

    I'm in Canada... I set it to United States and it turned into Fahrenheit, put it back to Canada and it's Celsius.

    Conclusion: Same firmware
     

Share This Page