3gs downgrade from a 4.1 to 4.0. Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sallymomo, Oct 7, 2010.

1. sallymomo macrumors newbie

Hi All,
    I am trying to buy a Iphone 3gs on craigslist. It is not unlocked and jailbroken and the guy says its running 4.1 on it. I need it unlocked and jailbroken cuz I have tmobile. However a friend said that u can't jailbreak 4.1. So I was wondering if I can downgrade to 4.0 something (which does have jailbreak out). Now since the phoen doesnt have cydia or antyhing like that...how do I go about doing this?? Do I downgrade first and then jailbreak/unlock it...or what exactly should I do?? Or should I just look for phones that have 4.0 running on it?
    Please help. I am totally new to all this.
    Thanks

2. Sheyar macrumors member

From what I know you cannot downgrade unless you have your SHSH on file by cydia, and since it isn't jailbroken I doubt that you can downgrade. Not sure though.

3. mrathee macrumors 6502

You can't - you have to wait for Greenpois0n to be released to be able to JB 4.1

You can either buy it and wait for find a phone with 4.0 on it.

4. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

Even if you could downgrade and JB it, you still can't unlock the phone. The baseband controls the unlock possibility and they can't be downgrade even if you downgrade the OS firmware.

5. bripab007 macrumors 6502

You don't have to be jailbroken to have your SHSHs on file with Cydia and/or stored on your local computer (look into Tiny Umbrella: http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/)

But, unless you have your SHSH files store on Cydia's server or some other computer of your own, no, you cannot downgrade.

6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Exactly.
    And even if you JB the new 4.1 we're not sure if they will also release an unlock any time soon.

7. macrazee macrumors regular