3gs downgrade stuck

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by impulse462, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. impulse462 macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a launch day 3GS (old bootroom) that I updated to the 4.0 GM seed, but I wanted to downgrade to 3.1.2 and then create a custom 4.0 firmware and restore to that, however my restore from some reason starts to hang 2/3 through the process (see picture)

    And yes I have my 3.0, 3.1, and 3.1.2 SHSH blobs saved to cydia and I have edited my /etc/hosts file accordingly.

    Any ideas why this is hanging?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. impulse462 thread starter macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
  3. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #3
    hmmm...that's odd. I assume it's still hanging after an hour?

    Or is this something that's been resolved?
     
  4. impulse462 thread starter macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #4
    No, it still just keeps hanging at that same spot. I tried both editing my host file and using the "start tss server" on the newest tinyumbrella, with the same results.
     
  5. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #5
    did you upgrade to 4.0 already?

    If so, use pwnage tool 4.0.1 to create the custom 4.0 then, downgrade to 3.1.2 then, jailbreak with blackra1n. and upgrade with custom 4.0 you created with pwnage tool.

    Edit: nevermind...i forgot you are stuck...hmmm

    try just putting 4.0 on it, not 3.1.3 or .2. then do the above.
     
  6. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #6
    He has to downgrade to 3.1.2 so that he can pwn his phone. A 3GS cannot be pwned or jailbroken at 4.0.
     
  7. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #7
    actually...yes it can. i just did mine.
     
  8. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #8
    lol ok. What tools did you use?
     
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    Oh, I can't wait to hear this. How, pray, did you jailbreak your iPhone 3GS at 4.0?
     
  10. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #10
    Fixed.
     
  11. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #11
    i created the custom ipsw with pwnage 4.0.1 then downgraded to 3.1.2 and jailbroke with blackra1n then upgraded to the custom 4.0 i created and bam. jailbroken.

    additionally, i had to edit the /host file before i did the above. but the OP already did that.
     
  12. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #12
    Why didn't you just load the custom FW while you were on 4.0? You just said it could be..
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    You did not pwn or jailbreak your phone at 4.0. You pwned your phone at 3.1.2 and then upgraded to a custom 4.0 firmware. That is not at all the same thing as what you were advising the OP.

    Precisely.
     
  14. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #14
    because from what i learned the jailbreak had to be done while on an earlier version (3.1.2 or 3.1.3). So the tutorial i followed instructed me to downgrade-jailbreak-then upgrade. I find it funny that this is news to you two. It's really not something i've just created. It's been on MR for a while now.

    simply look up 3gs jailbreak on 4.0.

    Cheers.
     
  15. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #15
    In other words, as I said above, you have to downgrade to 3.1.2 because the 3GS cannot be pwned or jailbroken at 4.0.
     
  16. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #16
    ok mate. I'm recalling from memory. You may be right. I'll find the thread i used and post it here. Perhaps it will detail what i did exactly.
     
  17. impulse462 thread starter macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #17
    Downgrading to 3.1.2 is what im trying to do in that picture, but evidently it keeps hanging. Since i got the 4, I was gonna unlock my 3gs and give it to my mom because she likes to go overseas a lot. Oh well.
     
  18. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #19
    You just told thelatinist he was wrong and a 3gs could be pwned/JB at 4.0 but then turned around and said you had to pwnd yours at 3.1.2. See the problem there? I think your getting your terminology wrong and it's causing some confusion for ya.
     
  19. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    Make sure your phone is in DFU mode. Downgrades must always be done in DFU mode. You will get an error 1015 when it's done and be stuck in recovery mode. Just run RecBoot or TinyUmbrella, either of which will be able to kick you out of Recovery Mode.
     
  20. impulse462 thread starter macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #21
    In that tutorial it says to put the phone in Recovery mode and downgrade to 3.1.2. Whenever i have done my downgrades in the past I have put my phone in DFU mode.

    I'll try recovery mode and report back, even though from my knowledge of this stuff it should make no difference.

    @thelatinist: yeah my 3gs was already in DFU mode when i tried this.
     
  21. Jare macrumors 65816

    Jare

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    I think I have solved the problem.

    Do you have WiFi Sync still on your COMPUTER? If so, it tends to cause this issue. Just remove the application, restart and try again and I guarantee you it will work.

    Had your exact same problem, found it was WiFi Sync stopping the USB cable from functioning properly when it was removed from the iPhone and left on the computer.
     
  22. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #23
    The only thing I can think of it trying to re-download the FW to see if that helps. At that point it should be all loaded to the phone but you could also try another USB port.
     
  23. Jare macrumors 65816

    Jare

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    FYI looking at your screenshot, yes you do have WiFi Sync installed. Remove it and restoring will work, I promise you ;)
     
  24. impulse462 thread starter macrumors 68000

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #25
    In fact, as you can see in the picture I do have WiFi Sync installed ;] ill uninstall that as well.
     

Share This Page