3Gs Jailbreak problems. PWNAGE,Blackra1n,HELP REQUIRED

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dravenrocks, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. dravenrocks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys. I'm having a few problems getting my phone Jailbroke. I've read through this thread,watched video after video on youtube,and scoured all the Mac forums and don't seem to be able to find a solution to my problem.

    I have a 3Gs on Orange running 3.1.2 Firmware. I'm using a MacBook.

    I installed Blackra1n,closed my itunes and clicked the make it rain tab. The guys face appears,the phone goes in to restore,an apple appears and it starts to reboot. I get the "enjoy your Jailbroken phone" message,as soon as my itunes starts up i minimise it, The apple on my phone disappears and is replaced by the USB cable pointing at the itunes icon. Blackra1n says "Done,waiting for reboot". My phone stays like this forever until i hit restore,which take it back to factory settings. Very frustrating.

    After doing a little research i came across PWNAGE Tool for people having problems with Blackra1n. Again i follow all the instructions to the letter. Select 3Gs,let it create my firmware,success message appears,i get "waiting for payload to be delivered",after a while it tells me to quit PWNAGE,open itunes and restore using new firmware on desktop. I do this. it restores as normal,then i get a complete blank phone,coupled with a "restore mode" message. when i click restore it just sends it back to factory settings. EVEN MORE FRUSTRATING.

    I read that anti virus software can be problematic,i've uninstalled mine and it still does not jailbreak.

    Any help you can give would be great!!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You still have your iPhone plugged in thru USB when u run blackrain right? You don't unplug it from the computer at all.
    If yes maybe try running blackrain on another computer.
     
  3. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    I never unplug the USB.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Cool, just making sure. Try it on another computer if you can. It should be done in less than a minute.
    Download a new copy of blackrain directly from blackra1n.com
     
  5. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #5
    So if i jailbreak it on a windows P.C,then sync my phone with my itunes library (on my mac),what will happen regarding contacts etc?
     
  6. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    I'm guessing you have a newer 3gs, and have a tethered jailbreak.

    So when you get to the point above, run blackra1n again. Geohot's face should pop up again, and this time, your iPhone should boot up properly.

    Google "tethered jailbreak" for more info on what it is and how to deal with it.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Nothing, you can jb at any computer and sync everything u want on your mac.
    Make sure the iPhone is activated and all your stuff are synced up.
    All the blackrain will do is jb the phone and add the blackrain icon. From that you can install cydia and Rock. Also blacksnow if you want to carrier unlock your phone
     
  8. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #8
    NICE ONE. I'm still non plussed as to why i cant JB from my macbook though.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9

    That was my thoughts also but if he has the iPhone plugged in while he runs blackrain it should load right up. I didn't think you have to run blackrain twice?
     
  10. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #10
    In my experience, no, blackra1n doesn't automatically run twice, you have to run it a second time manually.
     
  11. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #11
    Worked a treat thanks. Anything to stop this tethered jailbreak carry on?
     
  12. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #12
    Good to hear it worked! And nope, Apple made a change in a hardware chip, and nobody's figured out how to crack it.
     
  13. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #13
    If i switch off what will be lost? Just the jailbreak features,or my contacts etc?
     
  14. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #14
    Nothing is lost. All your apps, data, media, settings, etc will be there. It's just that you need a comuter, a usb cable and blackra1n to boot your iPhone past the "connect to itunes" screen.
     
  15. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #15
    You can't currently use PwnageTool to actually jailbreak a 3GS phone. You can with the original and 3G models which have bootroms subject to the Pwnage vulnerability, but that particular "hole" got patched up in the 3GS's bootrom. So, with the 3GS, it must already be jailbroken through another means (such as redsn0w, purplera1n, or blackra1n) before you can load a PwnageTool-prepared firmware onto the phone.

    Anyway, glad to hear you eventually got blackra1n to work.

    -- Nathan
     
  16. dravenrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #16
    Ah,i got a little mixed up. I thought PWNAGE tool was an alternative to Blackra1n and not an accompaniment:p
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    Pwnage Tool 3.1.4 is an alternative, but it will not JB the new 3GS bootrom. It will work on the older bootrom for 3GS and firmware 3.1.2
     
  18. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    This is no longer true. The newest version of PwnageTool will jailbreak virgin 3GSes provided they do not have the newest bootrom. Just have iTunes closed and iTunesHelper disabled, then tell PwnageTool that your phone has never been pwned when it asks immediately after firmware creation. It will apply a basic 24kpwn which will allow you to restore to the custom firmware you just created.

    This doesn't work for iPhones that with the new tethered-only version of iBoot, because it is not susceptible to the 24Kpwn.
     
  19. Dorv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #19
    Also in trouble

    I'm having the same problems. I'm in the same boat (3GS, 3.1.2), which, by all reports, should be able to be Jailbroken with the new PwnageTool (3.1.4), right?

    I've gone through the process correctly, ensuring that iTunes was shut down when it asked if the phone had been JB before. I've got a Mac, so I'm not sure if iTunesHelper exists, but a quick look at the Activity Monitor doesn't show a process called that.

    What is the newest bootrom, and where can I verify if I have it or not.
     
  20. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #20
  21. cinematheque macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #21
    So this seems like a pertinent question here...I jailbroke with blackra1n twice and it just gave me no end of problems. I decided to restore my 3GS (got it the third day it came out...so it has the old bootrom) and set it up as new, and I'm hesitant to jailbreak it again given how much trouble I've had with blackra1n. (I've had wifi, GPS, and push problems...not worth it to have all three considering my phone is AT&T.)

    But, I'm thinking about jailbreaking it again with pwnage, since it doesn't seem to report the same problems and I want to jailbreak it again at least long enough to restore my old text messages and whatnot.

    What I want to know is, when I use the pwnage tool, do I behave as if I have never jailbroken it before or not? Because that seems to make a difference. Since it was set up as a new phone just today, I thought not, but then again, I'm not really sure how it works, since I've read that if it's been jailbroken with blackra1n at any point you can't unlock it, which leads me to believe that there's something I know nothing about at work here.

    So, ummm...anybody? Anybody? Bueller? Bueller?
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    When asked if the phone has been pwned before, answer "no".

    And I am not critiquing you, but based on your responses in the "other" thread, I recommend a tutorial from iClarified. There are several other "must answer correctly" possible pitfalls with Pwnage Tool.
     
  23. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #23
    Oh, this was news to me, but sure enough, I just looked at the PwnageTool 3.1.4 release notes, and there it is. Thanks for the correction!

    -- Nathan
     
  24. Midgar777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #24
    I can vouch for this :D Week 37 - 40 is when they introduced the newer bootrom in the 3gs so if you have the older version and bought your phone a while back then you are in luck.

    I bought my iphone 3gs around October 09 and mine still had the old bootrom so I just used pwnage last night and now I'm rocking a jailbroken phone :D win win!

    I learnt from the best *high-fives dhlizard* POW!
     
  25. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #25
    Thanks again :D
     

Share This Page