3GS new bootrom unlock and jailbreak with sprit?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by doc2142, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. doc2142 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #1
    Someone on another forums told me I can unlock and jailbreak my 3gs thats on 3.1.3 with new bootrom. Is this true? or do I have to wait? The unlock is the important part here since with out I can't use the phone.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Yes, if you're on stock 3.1.3 and activated with an official simcard.
    Then you run Spirit to JB and install ultrasnow thru cydia to unlock.
     
  3. egphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #3
    This is true and when you open cydia make sure to select make my life easier so that cydia saves your shsh in case you need to restore the iphone in the future.
     
  4. doc2142 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    with sprit though I can't turn off my phone, and if it does I have to redo everything again right?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    No, spirit is an untethered JB.
    You can turn of and restart your iphone any time even on new bootrom 3GS models without having to run anything in order for your iphone to start up again.
     
  6. doc2142 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Wow I have been searching all day long and it was right under my hands.

    Ok so this is what I use correct?
    http://www.spiritjb.com

    Is there a good guide I can follow? thanks a lot guys!!!
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
  8. doc2142 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Ok just want to make sure, this will also let me Unlock the phone so I can use with T-Mobile correct? I know ill have to do it in cydia after the jailbreak but the Unlock is possible?

    Sorry for the so many question I am new to this.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Yes, that is correct.
    It will let you unlock the phone to use with Tmobile.
    Just make sure you dont update it by accident to 4.0.1 thru itunes or you will be stuck with no JB or unlock.
     
  10. douflag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
  11. doc2142 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    dude.... you freaking rock! Jailbroke and unlocked and it was less then 2 minutes!!!!

    All we need now is 4.0 unlock!!!!
     
  12. AlvinNguyen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    Grats. You can now sell it and buy an old bootrom 3GS. Looks like the unlock wont be for a while unfortunately. Especially at how buy they are just doing iPhone 4 stuff I don't see how they could have time to even care about the new bootrom 3GS. iOS4 runs beautifully on the 3GS though and is fast.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Actually the new JB that they are working on will work with all devices on iOS4
    So even new bootrom 3GS models could potentially use that on 4.0.1 to jB and then unlock the baseband with the same ultrasnow unlock.
    Its not that they are just doing iphone 4 stuff.
     
  14. narenmehta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #15
    Three questions:

    1) I know the current solution only supports sim activated phones (not stuck on "insert sim card" screen). Does any one know if there will ever be a solution for non-activated phones....

    2) If I do borrow a friends ATT simcard to get past the "insert sim card" screen, will it affect his current 2 year contract by any chance?

    3) I might have a ATT simcard that was de-activated since 6 -7 months. Will that help me activate my phone.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    1. We dont know what will be released.
    2. You can use his sim for a minute, it wont effect his contract or account at all.
    3. Yes, even inactive old att sims will get you past that screen and will be able to go to the home screen.
    I have about 5-6 old deactivated att sims laying around.
    If anyone wants them I can mail some out.
     
  16. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    A phonebook sim card should activate your phone (see sherif-hashim twitter)
     
  17. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #18
    I bought a new 32GB 3GS at BestBuy today and used Spirit. I had no problems using it and I have the latest iTunes on my computer.
     
  18. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #19
    I've never heard of a PhoneBook SIM card. :confused:
     
  19. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #20
    sherif_hashim twitter, video on YouTube

    They say it works
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #21
    Yes, and they may be a common product in India, but I've never seen or heard of one here in the US. *shrug*
     
  21. Flavin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #22
    I bought an ATT sim at Radio Shack for $25 and it worked
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    Same.
    I have no idea.
    Is he in India? That wouldn't help many people I would guess.
     
  23. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #24
    get the O2 wireless sim for $9.99 @ best buy and it will work
     
  24. chargit macrumors 6502a

    chargit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Evansville, In
    #25
    you can also use the new redsnow to activate your iPhone without a sim card.
     

Share This Page