3Gs on EDGE network how is it?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Johnner1999, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. Johnner1999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    #1
    Question

    where I live no 3G yet just EDGE - how does the 3Gs handle EDGE connections?

    I know EDGE is EDGE not wanting it to be faster data but I don't want the baseband to not work well on EDGE; does that make any sence?
     
  2. alansaysstop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Roseville
    #2
    well its still EDGE if thats the answer your looking for. I just tried to do a test for you but couldn't stand how slow it was haha. I mean it works if thats what you're asking.
     
  3. theITGuy macrumors 6502a

    theITGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    chasing the ghost in the machine
    #3
    Edge is still a pig...but you will love the snappiness of the phone itself...:D

    Cheers.

    -J.-
     

    Attached Files:

  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I'm not sure why anyone would think that EDGE performance would be better with the 3Gs, its going to be slow, no doubt about it.
     
  5. gowanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #5
    i'm amazed when I see people getting 175-200 on EDGE. My 1st gen phone gets 100 at best, usually around 75.

    I'll be getting my 3GS soon, so I'm really moving into the fastlane!
     
  6. Johnner1999 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    #6
    I didn't think it would be faster! Rather I was concerned it would be slower...
     

Share This Page