iPhone 3Gs Son restored on itunes after ipad baseband.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by QaxelKwatel, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. QaxelKwatel, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

    QaxelKwatel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #1
    My son decided he knew better than Dad and restored his 3gs on itunes, it was jailbroken and unlocked for T-mobile. Now i cant unlock it, it gets stuck. And if i try to use custom firmware it gives me error 2100. He upgraded to 5.1 i think from 5.0 custom ipsw. It is running ipad baseband.

    edit: 3194 error with custom firmware attempt to upgrade. Already put # in front of host I.P and also tried delete method. No good. :(
     
  2. spades1412 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #2
    Are you the original owner and was it associated with an AT&T line you own? You can send an unlock request to AT&T. I've also heard mention of cheap iPhone unlocks going for about $15 on ebay. You send in your IMEI and they respond with an unlock code.
     
  3. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #3
    Not Original owner, i believe its hanging up due to the iPad Baseband but not quite sure. I had no trouble unlocking it the first time.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You need to jump through many hoops to get it back to normal and unlocked again.
    It can be done but if you're not very familiar with jb and many tools and procedures I wouldn't attempt it. Find someone who knows what they're doing.
     
  5. QaxelKwatel, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

    QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #5
    I went and made a new firmware with Sn0wbreeze, after which i put into pwned dfu. Shift restore and no success. I get the 3194 error still. I put "#: in front of host file ip to apple .com and no avail. I also tried just jailbreaking but that did nothing as well. I am a tech guy by trade ( i program HVAC building systems) so not afraid to get in there and play with it, but don't want to go the wrong direction. I am comfortable in working the problem out with a little guidance.

    Also Disabled shsh to cydia in tiny umbrella. Redsnow gets stuck on "exploiting with Limerain"

    Edit: I attempted Diagnostics from iTunes with Success. This time it told me Device was present and running iOS 5.1.1. It wasn't showing up before even though it was seeing the device in restore mode, or locked mode. Not a huge deal, but its something.
     
  6. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #6
    Ive done JB on 2 touches i own, my iPad 1st gen 64g, 4 iPhone's and several Touches that a electronics repair buddy sent my way, as well as getting a few of the touches out of " device locked " state. He buys a lot of eBay stuff and repairs and resells them. I am not out of my comfort range as long as the info is good. :)
     
  7. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #7
    Update:Redsn0w 9.14.b1

    Apparently the redsn0w 9.14.b2 release can now downgrade from iPad baseband correcting gps issues. I am going to give it a try. Ill let you know.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, but before you do that you must first flash/install the ipad baseband.
    Right now your baseband is in inconsistent state cause of the restore to stock firmware.
    Use redsnow to install the ipad bb.
    When its done use redsnow again to downgrade the bb.
    Then assuming you have 5.1.1 shsh blobs use tinyumbrella and select request shsh from cydia.
    Then build a custom 5.1.1 ipsw with redsnow or snowbreeze.
    Put your iphone in Pwned dfu more and restore by selecting that custom no_bb 5.1.1 ipsw file.
    Hope it goes well.
    You can even restore to stock 6.0 if you want once you downgraded the baseband.
    Then purchase an imei unlock for your 3GS on ebay for $7-8 and then the phone is officially unlocked forever without the need of any hacks or JB.
    Way easier option but up to you.
    Im here to assist and present every available route:)
     
  9. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #9
    Awesome...the exploit failed, but you covered that. I am off to try it. Thanks for the info. Ill let you know.

    Edit: I dont have 5.1.1 shsh blobs as it was done to an ipad BB device. After the downgrade perhaps? Or can i download those? I had them saved before my old machine died and i rebuilt. I should have moved them to an external drive but didnt think of it.

    Edit: Meaning i had the original shsh blobs
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    The shsh blobs if there were requested on time should be saved on cydias server. Request shsh from cydia on T.U. advanced settings and then click save shsh while your iphone is plugged in via usb.
    So with Tinyumbrella you should be able to redownload them again to your computer.
    But if they are on cydias server all you gotta do is open TU. go to advanced and select set hosts to cydia on exit in order to do the restore to 5.1.1
    and then go on with creating the custom ipsw, enter pwned dfu, select the custom ipsw to restore to with itunes etc...
     
  11. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #11
    I am not getting that far currently. Exploit keeps failing on the iPad bb install. I did turn the settings back on in TU though.

    Edit: On another note, do you know if there is an unlock for the newer bootrom 3gs devices yet? Last time i looked there wasn't.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    TU has nothing to do when you're just running redsnow.
    It only plays a role after when you try to restore with itunes.
    About the bootrom that also makes no difference.
    Unlock is only based on the baseband version.
    And since you already have/had the ipad bb installed then you can downgrade it using redsnow and unlock. But you have to save the old baseband after you downgrade with a custom no_bb ipsw.
    I wonder why its failing to install the ipad bb?
     
  13. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #13
    I'm not sure why either. I had to call it quits to help kids with homework last night, but will try again tonight. I will keep you posted. Thank you for the help thus far.
    8:D
     
  14. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #14
    I'm not sure why either. I had to call it quits to help kids with homework last night, but will try again tonight. I will keep you posted. Thank you for the help thus far.
    8:D

    The 3gs with new bootrom has Bb that's incompatible for unlocking. Just curious if that's changed. Sorry for the double post, not sure what happened. Lol
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    There's 3 different bootroms that come into play with the 3GS.
    One was the old bootrom that allowed for untethered JB's forever on those phones no matter what firmware.
    Then came the new bootrom that allowed only tethered JB's forever on those 3GS models. But not untethered like the previous.
    Then came another new bootrom 3GS release that made it impossible to install the ipad bb in order to unlock. Any users that tried that on a new 3GS manufactured later than week 28 of 2011 fried the phones internal radio chips.
    Yours is safe since it was already unlocked with the ipad bb before so it can be flashed the ipad bb and downgraded again.
     
  16. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #16
    Sorry, im talking about my 3gs that I am currently using as an ipod touch. I'm on T-Mo so i have an android for now, had originally hoped that i could use that 3gs but its newer than the old bootrom, and not sure if its the latest Bootrom your speaking of with the antennae problem. I actually didn't know there were three till right now.

    That phone is different than the one I'm currently trying to fix for my son, which has the old bootrom.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Give me the first 5 digits of the serial number of that 3GS.
    Should be able to tell when it was manufactured and if its compatible with the iPad bb.
     
  18. QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #18
    85143 So week 43 of 2011?

    Thats on my Phone, i jailbroke it for a few apps i like, such as udid,but never unlocked.
     
  19. QaxelKwatel, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2012

    QaxelKwatel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #19
    Update!!!

    Ok i found a vid on youtube, it says it fixes redsn0w errors. It says to open task manager and select redsn0w and set affinity. I did this, and no failed exploit on the downgrade process, so i will know in a few minutes if all is good! :)

    ----------

    This time around, i will purchase the imei unlock and then wont have to worry about it per your advice! Awesome, its on the device portion of the jailbreak. Oh yeah....love it!! lol

    Edit: i unlocked it with ultrasn0w after the down grade.....IT WORKS >>OH YEAH , HAPPY DANCE.!! lol Thank you for all the help its much appreciated. Now i just need to figure out what to do with mine.
     

Share This Page