3GS vs 4: Any difference in eye strain? (which iPhone to buy?)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Danae, Jul 12, 2010.

1. Danae macrumors newbie

I'm living up here in Canada, and right now I'm torn between grabbing one of the last few 32 GB 3GS iPhones available on contract for $149 or being patient and waiting for the 4 to come out for what I'm guessing will be $299. This will be my first iPhone.

There is no doubt that I want the 4, but there are several things holding me back. I'm a student so price is a big one. Other factors include all of the reported problems people are having with their new 4s, and of course the fact that it has yet to be released in Canada so it may be difficult to get one for a while. Ideally I'd like to have a new phone by the end of August.

My Big Question: I could probably live with a 3GS and be happy with my savings, but when I've used my fiancé's 3GS I noticed a fair amount of eye strain with even the smallest amount of reading text (browsing, app store, email, etc). With the new "retina display" have people noticed a difference in the amount of eye strain/eye fatigue they get? This is probably the deciding factor for me -- it doesn't make sense to save $150 if it's going to hurt my eyes more!

I wish I could compare the phones myself, but with 3GSs disappearing rapidly and the iPhone 4 still awaiting release I need to rely on your opinions. So please... opinion away!

Thanks so much!

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

I've read one book on my iPhone 4 and am reading more on it. The display is amazing. Certainly I find it less of a strain than any other display I've ever used.

3. F123D macrumors 68040

F123D

The $150 is definitely worth it for the retina screen. It's like watching an old tube television set vs. a high definition flat screen.

4. bobright macrumors 601

Look over the first few pages of the sticky iPhone 4 pictures thread.

You will see screenshot comparisons of both the 3Gs and 4 side by side.