3rd party external monitors -- Need advice!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jmgilman, Jun 4, 2009.

1. jmgilman macrumors newbie

I'm a college student who will be required to being doing quite a bit of video editing using Final Cut, as well as general email, Garageband projects, etc.

I'm looking for the cheapest but biggest/brightest/best 3rd party monitor that is compatible with a MacBook Pro. I want something big that I can use to watch movies, do my work on, etc., but I am pretty broke so am hoping to find something cheap.

Any advice would be appreciated!!

2. MTI macrumors 65816

Budget LCD panels generally will have compromises in size, contrast ratio and resolution.

On the other hand . . . if you have the space to put it, you can pretty much get a honkin' big 19-23" old fashioned CRT style monitor for free on Craigslist. Nearly all of them are color tuneable, will support the resolution of the laptop and free has a certain ring to it, yes?

3. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants

The cheapest monitor that comes to mind is the Dell 2209WA - you will need the MDP->DVI adapter. Should be under $400 total. However, the max rez is 1680x1050.

If you feel like spending a few extra hundred dollars (including adapter costs), the HP LP2475 is an excellent choice - a slight note, things will appear over-saturated if[/i] you are not working in a colour-aware program (Final Cut is, to the best of my knowledge, colour-aware). Get it from Amazon, their return policy is EXCELLENT.

If you can find a DS-263N on eBay, thats another good monitor. They're no longer produced, but 25.5". I got mine for $500 including shipping... Just verify with the seller that there aren't any dead pixels. I found mine on an Amazon store that sells off random crap they find in inventory.

The reason I deal with Amazon is their return policy... Generally, you get stuck with dead pixels from other sellers (between three and eight is the minimum at most stores)