3rd party keyboard and quick reply

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Craiger, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #1
    Is it just me or can we not use 3rd party keyboards with quick reply?

    If this is true, it is really frustrating since your fingers get used to swiping.
     
  2. Craiger thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #2
    Really? No one cares about this? It's driving me nuts and I hope Apple fixes it soon!
     
  3. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #3
    I noticed this too! I cannot use SwiftKey if I reply from the lockscreen. I can quick reply from a notification banner, however.
     
  4. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #5
    Did you read my post above this one? It does not work from the lock screen. If you swipe left on a lock screen notification, and hit reply it does not work.
     
  5. dannyyankou macrumors 603

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #6
    Only read the OP. You're right though, that's strange.
     
  6. Craiger thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #7
    Ah thanks for the clarification. I didn't think to try that. Lock screen quick replies are generally what I use. Hopefully Apple plans to fix this. It could be a security issue for them though.
     
  7. fins831 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
  8. countzero2k10 macrumors member

    countzero2k10

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #9
    I've noticed this too with swiftkey. Also the screen screws up when you try to fill out a review on the app store lol. I've sent a bug report to the swiftkey folks.
     
  9. Dino F macrumors 68020

    Dino F

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon, South London, UK
    #10
    ....a little off topic so apologies but how exactly does Swiftkey work?!

    How does it know which letters you are selecting, just by swiping?! Does it select the best word which it thinks you have swiped over?!:confused:
     
  10. Jigga macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #11
    Swiftkey says it's an Apple bug.
     
  11. countzero2k10 macrumors member

    countzero2k10

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #12
    Great lol. It'll never get fixed :p. Oh, I just tried Swype and I get a keyboard on the lockscreen but its the normal apple keyboard. But that's off since I removed the normal keyboard from settings. Guess the normal keyboard is the default option for the lockscreen?

    Anyone else see this?
     
  12. Diesel350 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #13
    Well I guess I'm going to download Swype then since I can't reply with SwiftKey from the lockscreen.
     

Share This Page