3rd Party Password App for Mac ??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fab5freddy, Jun 21, 2008.

1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

fab5freddy

Is there a Good 3rd Party App for Managing Website Passwords ??

I am going nuts trying to manage all my passwords on 3 different Macs ..!

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

3. jsgreen macrumors 6502

1Password is good

Splash makes a password manager too, called SplashID. If you have a PC, I don't think 1Password will work, whereas SplashID has versions for either platform.

That being said, I prefer 1Password for the auto-fill features, which Splash is sorely lacking.

4. r88my macrumors regular

5. northerngit macrumors member

6. nemex macrumors regular

nemex

7. queshy macrumors 68040

queshy

8. DaveF macrumors 6502a

SplashID without hesitation. I've been using it for six years on Palm, Windows, and now OS X. For all-purpose personal data management -- passwords, bank websites, credit card info, it can't be beat.

I bought and tried 1passwd, but I simply don't understand it. It seems intended solely for web passwords and not for the complete range of personal data I manage with SplashID.

9. dws90 macrumors regular

I also used SplashID for many years, but I recently switched to 1passsword when my Palm died.

The advantage 1password has over SplashID is browser integration. While you can certainly store your web passwords in SplashID, you have to manually open the application, look up the password, then copy/paste it into your browser. With 1password, you can simply press Apple + \ while on the webpage, and it'll automatically fill in your password for you.

10. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

roboform has free version too.

for OP. firefox itself is a nice password app.

11. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

bobr1952