3TB inside a 2010 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Hexley, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    Planning to do some "surgery" and swap out a preinstalled HDD with a 3TB Seagate Barracuda XT. Does the iMac or OS X Snow Leopard allow full use of drives larger than 2.2GB?

    For those curious the 3TB Seagate Barracuda XT ST33000651AS goes for $230.
     
  2. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
  3. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    I'd be terrified of doing this unless I had a suitable backup solution. That's a hell of a lot of data that could potentially go missing!
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    It does not void warranty unless you damage something while doing it.
     
  5. frankieboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #6
    You challenge may be with the HDD temperature sensor in the iMac. If things aren't right your fans will run too much. IIRC, there are different sensors for different brands of drives used in the iMac. You might want to upgrade to the same brand already in your iMac. See:


    I don't know if this issue also applies to the 2010 iMac referred to by the OP.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    The data does not go missing just because you switch HDDs, it just isn't accessible as it was before, which can be remedied with an enclosure or dock for 3.5" S-ATA HDDs.

    I recently switched the HDD on my 2007 Alu iMac and using iFixIt and a video guide made the switch quite simple. It took me less than an hour including breaks and working with a couch table.
     
  7. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #8
    Just wish Apple would make upgrading the HDD as easy as upping RAM. Thanks for the tip guys! 3TB must be very nice to have in an all-in-one system.

    I expect the top-end 2011 iMac to only have 1.5TB as standard for the i7 model.
     
  8. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #9
    meh.

    tack on a $100 2TB USB 2 drive and move all of your iTunes and iPhoto and movie libraries to it.

    if you are anything like me thats nearly 300 gigs of crap right there.

    then even a small drive is fine.

    and of course theres FW800 and Thunderbolt coming.
     
  9. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #10
    My point was that if something goes wrong with the drive and you have no backup, that's potentially 3TB of data gone...

    For me, I'd have an external source like a USB drive or a NAS as my main storage repository (with an appropriate backup solution).
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    You should always have a backup, no matter what size your internal HD is. There are multi-bay enclosures that can hold TBs of data.
     
  11. Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #12
    THat's why there's Time Machine... to automate your backups. :)
     
  12. Detosx, Apr 22, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011

    Detosx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #13
    Read up on the firmware issue with late 2009/2010 iMacs as distinct from being distracted by Seagate/WD/Hitatichi temperature cables.

    Apple flash their Seagate 1tb hard drives, for instance, with Apple firmware 'AP25'; if you swap out the Seagate for an apparently identical or similar model, having the right Seagate temperature cable won't help you - the hard drive fan will slowly spin up to full speed, meaning you'll have to open your iMac a second time to employ a workaround. The panel's ribbon cables look relatively fragile to me based on seeing pictures from ifixit's detailed strip down; not something you want to be doing often, perhaps. Re the fan issue, though I haven't been there for a few weeks there are workarounds in the OWC blog link above, if you read through the responses there.

    Some people reporting success with cables appear to be putting them in the wrong way, apparently causing a short in the same way that the 'staple' short solution appears to work; in other words locking the HD fan at a constant 1100rpm; no matter how hot their HD runs when under stress, the fan doesn't go above 1100rpm. I noticed this on a huge thread on Apple's discussion forum. If the sometimes mentioned 922-9229 optical cable works, I would be curious to hear from anyone who has made their own with parts from Radio Spares, etc; $19 seems like a lot for a couple of wires and a sensor.
     
  13. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    Changing the hard drive or RAM doesn't void the warranty.
     

Share This Page