4.1 Ispw

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jimmy83, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
    Got no internet at mine yet, while iam at the parents I was hoping to download the .ISPW if possible? Then copy it across onto my main PC and upgrade that way.
     
  2. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
    yup the links are on the thread from the main article on MacRumors front page about 4.1

    see this link - http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11018228&postcount=22
     
  3. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
    Thanks man, do you need iTunes 10 to update to 4.1?

    Also do you have the 4.0.1 ISPW?

    Iam JB and wanna keep it that way if possible, PC is running iTunes 9.2
     
  4. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
  5. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    i used 9.2 when i did the GM, not done the new one. i don't have the links, i was just linking to someone else that posted them
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Btw, it won't let you install it with no Internet.
    It needs to verify it before it installs the firmware with apples servers.
     
  7. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    oh yea, there is that! lol :rolleyes:
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yep, that does suck:)
     
  9. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #9
    Well thanks for the info, didnt know that.

    Can I restore without using the internet? My iPhone 4 came with 4.0.1 pre installed so I guess I would have to download that again to be able to restore?
     
  10. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    nope, update and restore both need the internet to re-activate the iPhone.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Correct, not only to activate the phone but it contacts apple before it even let's you start installing the firmware. So no Internet, no update period.
     
  12. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #12
    Great so I can even restore to factory settings before I go to see a genuis tomorrow :mad:
     
  13. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #14
    I've only got Cydia an sbsettings installed, what do you reckon poof Cydia and uninstall sbsettings?

    If they hook it upto there mac will they be able to see its jb, and tell me to walk out?!
     

Share This Page