4.1 Killed my signal

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheBritishBloke, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Just curious, has anyone else had this issue after updating? My signal strength used to be 3 bars on 3G indoors, now I get 2-3 bars on EDGE..
     
  2. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #2
    Someone else has mentioned this in another thread. But my reception seems to be the same.
     
  3. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #3
    I was on 3.1.3 for the longest time, perfect signal. Ever since I got onto 4.0+ a few weeks back my signal has been gone! I know they did that whole "reformulation of the bars" or whatever but this is crazy.. I thought I was the only one. Glad to see thats not the case.
     
  4. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #4
    Not quite, 4.0.1 had the reformulation of the bars (and an increase in the lowest signal lv) but 4.0 changed which tower you connect to. 3.1.3- connected you to the CLOSEST tower while under 4.0+ you get connected to the tower with LEAST traffic even if it was further away which meant your signal would be lower.
     
  5. benoitgphoto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #5


    First time I hear that...any official reference on that (closest tower vs least traffic )?
     
  6. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #6
    Thanks for the info although I'm not sure what you meant by "Not quite"
    Are you suggesting that I'm lying!?
     
  7. TheBritishBloke thread starter macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    I might contact my carrier.. I think it's my phone, as ever since getting my iPhone 4, I rarely ever get 3G now, and even though I'm in a ridiculously high coverage zone, I never get more than 3 bars..
     
  8. Rofl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #8
    It's not your phone. How do I know? Because I replaced my purported 'faulty' phone with Apple when I experienced the same issues as you did, and it came back exactly the same. Either that's just bad karma, or there is realistically nothing wrong with the phone at all. I think it's more of a software issue - like the antenna is not being able to align properly with the signal mast.
     

Share This Page