4,1 Post your temps at load and idle

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by adam9c1, Dec 12, 2013.

  1. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    Those of you with 4,1

    Can you post your temp numbers at idle and load?

    I only have few days to return the unit.
    Yesterday I found only the top optical drive is being recognized.
    I don't have the 2.5mm hex to try to open the optical cover.
     
  2. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #2

    Are you sure there is supposed to be 2 drives in the optical drive bay? There are 2 doors, but there may be only 1 Superdrive in there. Did the seller say there were two?

    When you refer to the optical cover, do you mean the access door to the optical drive bay? IF so, then you don't need a tool to open it. IT has a handle and you just pull it out.
     
  3. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    At my old job I had a 5,1 and it had two optical drives.

    I did not peak through the access door. What I meant however was to remove the hex screws that hold the side cover to the optical drives. I think they are the same size as ones that hold the CPU tray in place.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Did the seller tell you that it does have two optical drives?
    No Mac Pro comes with two optical drives standard. That has always been an optional add-on.

    You don't need ANY tools to pull the drive carrier out.
    Just lift the latch on the back panel of the MP up, and then reach inside and slide the drive carrier out. You'll see immediately if there's any device in the lower optical bay.
     
  5. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    I can't think of any kind of hex screw related to the optical drives. They are mounted with small Phillips screws, I think.

    The 5,1 at your job may have had 2 drives, but most Mac Pros shipped with only one bay occupied. That was the standard configuration. Unless someone had a second drive added as a BTO uprgrade originally or added one themselves later on, then you will likely have only one drive in there. Just pull the door out and have a look.

    EDIT: DeltaMac types faster than I. Sorry for the repeat information.
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    Neither can I. Also, there are no screws holding the CPU tray in place.
     
  7. adam9c1, Dec 12, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013

    adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Are these numbers good?
    CPU A TDIODE 99F 37C
    CPU A HeatSink 93F 34C
    CPU A Relative to ProcHot 131F 55C
    CPU B TDIODE 83F 28C
    CPU B HeatSink 81F 27C
    CPU B Relative to ProcHot 146F 63C

    IOH HeatSink 125F 51C
    IOH TDIODE 187 86C

    I don't know what the relative to prochot mean?
    In my screenshot those numbers are much higher than the other guys

    These numbers are idle for about 20h


    After running Geekbench Burn in for 10 hours

    CPU A TDIODE 173F 78C
    CPU A HeatSink 140F 60C
    CPU B TDIODE 151F 66C
    CPU B HeatSink 118F 48C

    IOH HeatSink 131F 55C
    IOH TDIODE 198F 92C
     
  8. ybz90 macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #8
    While for weather, I can only operate in °F, when it comes to anything science, math, or computers-related, it's got to be in °C for me to have any understanding what those numbers mean.
     

Share This Page