4.2.1 Tethered jailbreak windows 7 issue

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ibozo, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. ibozo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #1
    I' ve been looking into several videos and websites for my problem and no solution so far.Here is the problem

    I use redsn0w0.9.6b4 for jailbreaking

    I follow the steps as it is written down there.

    I put my device on DFU mode.Jailbreak process started.White screen on my iphone 4 then the redsnow logo.Afterwards it says you are done etc. but i dont have any of next processes that i have to see such as jailbreak data installing etc.The iphone just reboots itself and there is nothing changed in it.

    Waiting for your suggestions,thanks
     
  2. Holmes093 macrumors 6502

    Holmes093

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
  3. ibozo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #3
    I tried it already.I also tried vista and windows 98 modes
     
  4. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #4
    Try the usual stuff, another USB cable, USB port, disable security programs, run Redsnow in compatibility mode (windows), and if all else fails, try a different computer.
     
  5. jthomp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    the 717
  6. ibozo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #6
    Tried running as adminstrator and disabling security softwares still the same
    Says rebooting for 1-2 secs then done and reboots without any changings
     
  7. Holmes093 macrumors 6502

    Holmes093

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #7
    iTunes 10.1 ?
    Fresh Restore
    Run Redsn0w
    Follow Steps
    Once Jailbroken turn off iPhone,
    Reboot tethered

    You are doing that yeah ?
     
  8. ibozo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #8
    How many days count as a fresh restore:)

    I restored it for like 3-4 days ago and installed all of my old applications by using my back up i'm not sure if it's okay?

    Btw should i be running itunes while i am jailbreaking?
     
  9. Sherifftruman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #9
    I just about pulled my hair out trying to JB my wifes iPad on 4.2.1 I tried everything, including on my WIndows XP partition that I have not used in forever.

    Eventually searching I stumbled on something saying it had to do with processor affinity on a multi processor or core system. To fix it, first open redsn0w as admin, then go to Task Manager, select show process from all users. Then find redsn0w, highlight it and right click. Select Affinity, then uncheck Processor 0. THen go back to redsn0w and keep going as normal.

    IT worked great for me after dozens of tries.
     
  10. ibozo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #10
    I just tried it both with 0 and 1 unchecked but didn't work for me it's really interesting that i can't jailbreak even though i tried almost everything
     
  11. Holmes093 macrumors 6502

    Holmes093

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #11
    This is what i did....

    Windows 7 (32 bit), iTunes 10.1, iPhone 4 (4.2.1), redsn0w_win_0.9.6rc8.

    Download 4.2.1 firmware from here..http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/
    Download Redsn0w here...https://sites.google.com/a/iphone-dev.com/files/home/redsn0w_win_0.9.6rc8.zip?attredirects=0&d=1

    • Back-up iPhone
    • Restore iPhone using firmware just downloaded (shift restore).
    • Go into redsn0w folder, right click redsnow.exe and go to compatability mode...change to windows XP.
    • Run Redsn0w, follow instructions (redsn0w will close itunes automatically). MAKE SURE U HAVE CYDIA TICKED
    • Once jailbroken, Cydia may be just a white icon and crash..... turn off iPhone, then close redsn0w and then re-open redsn0w and go through make sure you tick only boot tethered now, follow instructions

    I followed that and got it 1st time :)

    Good Luck
     
  12. ibozo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #12
    Ty man i just tried what you said and worked well for me i appreciate all the advices from all of you :)
     
  13. Sherifftruman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    THe XP compatibility mode thing does help lots of times. The only problem is that you have to have Professional to use it, Home Premium will not allow you to install XP Mode.

    Also, if you uncheck processor 0 and 1, and thats all the processeors you have listed then of course the program will not run. Just uncheck o so it is still allowed to run on the other processor core.
     

Share This Page